

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, March 20, 2023 (25)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Security, Defence and Veterans Affairs met this day at 4 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the Deputy chair, the Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Boisvenu, Cardozo, Dagenais, Dasko, Deacon (Ontario), Richards and Yussuff (8).

Participating in the meeting: Catlin Seibel-Kamél, Legislative Clerk, Chamber Operations and Procedure Office; Ariel Shapiro and Anne-Marie Therrien-Tremblay, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 10, 2022, the committee continued its study of issues relating to national security and defence generally.

WITNESSES:

Communications Security Establishment:

Sami Khoury, Head, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security;

Daniel Couillard, Director General, Partnerships and Risk Mitigation, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security.

As individuals:

Kristen Csenkey, Fellow, North American Arctic Defence and Security Network, and PhD Candidate, Balsillie School of International Affairs;

Christian Leuprecht, Professor, Department of Political Science and Economics, Royal Military College of Canada (*by videoconference*);

Alex Wilner, Associate Professor, International Affairs, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University;

Brandon Valeriano, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Marine Corps University and Senior Advisor, Cyberspace Solarium Commission 2.0;

Quentin E. Hodgson, Senior International Defense Researcher, RAND Corporation (by videoconference);

Alexis Rapin, Research Fellow, Raoul-Dandurand Chair of Strategic and Diplomatic Studies, Université du Québec à Montréal.

Sami Khoury made a statement and, together with Daniel Couillard, answered questions.

At 4:58 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:09 p.m., the committee resumed.

Kristen Csenkey, Christian Leuprecht and Alex Wilner each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:07 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:19 p.m., the committee resumed.

Brandon Valeriano, Quentin E. Hodgson and Alexis Rapin each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:10 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Dupont

Clerk of the Committee