

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, September 23, 2024 (60)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Security, Defence and Veterans Affairs met this day at 4:32 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Tony Dean, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Cardozo, Carignan, P.C., Dagenais, Dalphond, Deacon (*Ontario*), Dean, McNair, Omidvar, Patterson, Richards and Yussuff (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Al Zaibak and Cotter (2).

Participating in the meeting: Ariel Shapiro and Anne-Marie Therrien-Tremblay, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, June 20, 2024, the committee began its examination of Bill C-20, An Act establishing the Public Complaints and Review Commission and amending certain Acts and statutory instruments.

APPEARING:

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety, Democratic Institutions and Intergovernmental Affairs.

WITNESSES:

Public Safety Canada:

Randall Koops, Director General, International and Border Policy, Portfolio Affairs and Communications Branch;

Philippe Roseberry, Director, Border Policy, Portfolio Affairs and Communications Branch.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Cathy Maltais, Director, Recourse.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Bryan Larkin, Acting Commissioner, Specialized Policing Services;

Alfredo Bangloy, Assistant Commissioner, Professional Responsibility Sector.

Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the RCMP:

Michelaine Lahaie, Chairperson;

Joanne Gibb, Senior Director, Strategic Operations and Policy Directorate;

Lesley McCoy, General Counsel.

Pursuant to rule 15-7(1) of the Rules of the Senate and subsection 12(1) of the Ethics and Conflict of Interest Code for Senators, a declaration of private interest was made as follows:

The Honourable Senator Anderson made a written declaration regarding Bill C-20, An Act establishing the Public Complaints and Review Commission and amending certain Acts and statutory instruments.

The minister made a statement and, together with Randall Koops and Bryan Larkin, answered questions.

At 5:33 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:43 p.m., the committee resumed.

Bryan Larkin, Randall Koops, Alfredo Bangloy, and Cathy Maltais answered questions.

At 6:30 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:44 p.m., the committee resumed.

Michelaine Lahaie made a statement and, together with Joanne Gibb, answered questions.

At 7:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Paajanen

Clerk of the Committee