

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, October 28, 2024 (63)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Security, Defence and Veterans Affairs met this day at 4:01 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Tony Dean, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Anderson, Boehm, Carignan, P.C., Dagenais, Dasko, Deacon (*Ontario*), Dean, Fridhandler, Gold, P.C., Kutcher, Patterson, Richards and Yussuff (13).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Al Zaibak, Batters, Duncan and McNair (4).

Participating in the meeting: Ariel Shapiro and Anne-Marie Therrien-Tremblay, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, October 23, 2024, the committee began its examination of Bill C-26, An Act respecting cyber security, amending the Telecommunications Act and making consequential amendments to other Acts.

APPEARING:

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety, Democratic Institutions and Intergovernmental Affairs;

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, P.C., M.P., Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry.

WITNESSES:

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Martin Proulx, Director General, Spectrum and Telecommunications Sector;

Wen Kwan, Senior Director, Spectrum and Telecommunications Sector;

David Gibson, Director, Spectrum and Telecommunications Sector;

Andre Arbour, Director General, Strategy and Innovation Policy Sector.

Public Safety Canada:

Patrick Boucher, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, National and Cyber Security Branch;

Colin MacSween, Director General, National and Cyber Security Branch;

Kelly-Anne Gibson, Acting Director, National and Cyber Security Branch.

Communications Security Establishment Canada:

Sami Khoury, Senior Official for Cyber Security;

Daniel Couillard, Director General, Partnerships and Risk Mitigation, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security;

Stephen Bolton, Director General, Strategic Policy.

The ministers each made a statement and together with Patrick Boucher, answered questions.

At 5:09 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:18 p.m., the committee resumed.

Colin MacSween, Andre Arbour, Sami Khoury and Daniel Couillard answered questions.

At 6:36 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Paajanen

Clerk of the Committee