

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Monday, November 4, 2024 (64)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on National Security, Defence and Veterans Affairs met this day at 4:01 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Tony Dean, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Cardozo, Carignan, P.C., Dagenais, Dasko, Deacon (*Ontario*), Dean, LaBoucane-Benson, McNair, Richards and Yussuff (11).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Batters (1).

Participating in the meeting: Ariel Shapiro and Anne-Marie Therrien-Tremblay, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, October 23, 2024, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-26, An Act respecting cyber security, amending the Telecommunications Act and making consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES:

Canadian Cyber Threat Exchange:

Jennifer Quaid, Executive Director.

Citizen Lab:

Kate Robertson, Senior Research Associate.

Centre for International Governance Innovation:

Aaron Shull, Managing Director and General Counsel (by videoconference).

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Ulrike Bahr-Gedalia, Senior Director, Digital Economy, Technology and Innovation.

Canadian Telecommunications Association:

Eric Smith, Senior Vice-President.

IBM Canada:

Tiéoulé Traoré, Executive, Government and Regulatory Affairs;

Daina Proctor, Executive, Cyber Security Services.

Canadian Internet Registration Authority :

Byron Holland, President and Chief Executive Officer.

As an individual:

Matt Malone, Balsillie Scholar, Balsillie School of International Affairs.

The committee observed a moment of silence in memory of the Honorable Murray Sinclair.

Jennifer Quaid, Kate Robertson and Aaron Shull each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:02 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:10 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ulrike Bahr-Gedalia, Tiéoulé Traoré, Daina Proctor and Eric Smith each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:09 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:19 p.m., the committee resumed.

Byron Holland and Matt Malone each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:05 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:08 p.m., the committee resumed.

The Honourable Senator Dean made a statement.

The Honourable Senator Dagenais moved that the Honourable Senator Yussuff do take the chair of the committee.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

The Honourable Senator Yussuff made a statement.

At 7:22 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Paajanen

Clerk of the Committee