

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Friday, February 25, 2022 (6)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of November 25, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 2 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Bovey, Dasko, Kutcher, Lankin, P.C., McPhedran, Moodie, Omidvar, Patterson, Petitclerc, Poirier and Quinn (12).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Cordy, Mégie and Pate (3).

Participating in the meeting: Andrea Mugny, Procedural Clerk, Marc-André Lanthier and Lori Meldrum, administrative assistants, Committees Directorate; Laura Blackmore and Laura Munn-Rivard, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 24, 2022, the committee began its consideration of Bill C-12, An Act to amend the Old Age Security Act (Guaranteed Income Supplement).

APPEARING (by videoconference):

The Honourable Kamal Khera, P.C., M.P, Minister of Seniors.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Alexis Jonathan Conrad, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Security and Social Development;

Cliff C. Groen, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Benefits and Integrated Services Branch, Service Canada;

Annette Gibbons, Associate Deputy Minister.

Campaign 2000:

Leila Sarangi, National Director.

Income Security Advocacy Centre:

Devorah Kobluk, Senior Policy Analyst.

The minister made a statement and, together with Alexis Jonathan Conrad, Cliff Groen and Annette Gibbons, answered questions.

At 3:04 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:07 p.m., the committee resumed.

Leila Sarangi and Devorah Kobluk each made a statement and answered questions.

At 3:18 p.m., the Honourable Senator Petitclerc took the chair.

At 4:05 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee