

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, June 6, 2024 (103)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 9 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cordy, Cormier, Dasko, Omidvar, Osler and Yussuff (6).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Mégie (1).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Munn-Rivard, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 23, 2024, the committee continued its study of Bill C-50, An Act respecting accountability, transparency and engagement to support the creation of sustainable jobs for workers and economic growth in a net-zero economy.

WITNESSES:

Blue Green Canada:

Christine Jones, Manager, Industrial Decarbonization.

Climate Action Network Canada:

Alex Cool-Fergus, Manager, National Policy.

Pembina Institute:

Megan Gordon, Senior Analyst (by videoconference).

First Nations Major Projects Coalition:

Sharleen Gale, Chief, Fort Nelson First Nation and Chair, First Nations Major Projects Coalition (by videoconference);

Suzanne Von der Porten, Vice-President, Clean Energy Strategy (by videoconference).

Indigenous Resource Network:

John Desjarlais, Executive Director (by videoconference).

Indigenous Clean Energy:

Freddie Huppé Campbell, Director, Energy and Climate (by videoconference).

Leduc County:

Rick Smith, City Councillor, Division One (by videoconference).

Christine Jones, Alex Cool-Fergus and Megan Gordon each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:57 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:04 a.m., the committee resumed.

Sharleen Gale, John Desjarlais and Freddie Huppé Campbell each made a statement and, together with Suzanne Von der Porten, answered questions.

At 10:42 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:46 a.m., the committee resumed.

Rick Smith made a statement and answered questions.

At 11 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Dupont

Clerk of the Committee