

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, June 11, 2024 (106)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 3 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Brazeau, Burey, Cordy, Cormier, Lankin, P.C., Moodie, Omidvar, Osler, Petitclerc and Seidman (11).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., McPhedran and Mégie (3).

Participating in the meeting: Diana Ambrozas, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, June 6, 2024, the committee continued its study of Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012.

WITNESSES:

Montreal Economic Institute:

Daniel Dufort, Chief Executive Officer;

Gabriel Giguère, Senior Public Policy Analyst.

Canadian Labour Congress:

Bea Bruske, President (by videoconference).

Unifor:

Lana Payne, National President (by videoconference).

Teamsters Canada:

Mariam Abou-Dib, Executive Director (by videoconference).

Alberta Federation of Labour:

Gil McGowan, President.

United Steelworkers Union:

Marty Warren, National Director.

International Longshore and Warehouse Union:

Rob Ashton, President (by videoconference).

As individuals:

- Robert Paul Hebdon, Professor Emeritus, Organizational Behavior, McGill University (by videoconference);
- Rafael Gomez, Director, Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources, University of Toronto (by videoconference).

Robert Paul Hebdon, Rafael Gomez and Daniel Dufort each made a statement and, together with Gabriel Giguère, answered questions.

At 3:49 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:55 p.m., the committee resumed.

Bea Bruske, Lana Payne and Mariam Abou-Dib each made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:57 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the committee resumed.

Gil McGowan, Marty Warren and Rob Ashton each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:47 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Dupont

Clerk of the Committee