

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, November 20, 2024 (125)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 4:15 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Rosemary Moodie, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Bernard, Boudreau, Burey, Cormier, Dasko, Mégie, Moodie, Osler, Petitclerc and Seidman (10).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator McBean (1).

*Participating in the meeting:* Mayra Perez-Leclerc and Diana Ambrozas, analysts, Library of Parliament.

The chair presided over the election of a deputy chair.

The Honourable Senator Seidman moved that the Honourable Senator Bernard be deputy chair of the committee.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 30, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-252, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act (prohibition of food and beverage marketing directed at children).

## WITNESSES:

Stop Marketing to Kids Coalition:

Dr. Tom Warshawski, Consultant pediatrician and Chair, Childhood Healthy Living Foundation (by videoconference);

Corinne Voyer, Director, Collectif Vital (by videoconference);

Elise Pauzé, Policy Analyst, Nutrition, Heart and Stroke.

**UNICEF** Canada:

Lisa Wolff, Director, Policy and Research.

As individuals:

Monique Potvin Kent, Professor, School of Epidemiology and Public Health, Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa.

Charlene Elliott, Professor, Department of Communication, Media and Film, University of Calgary (by videoconference);

Lindsey Smith Taillie, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Nutrition, Gillings School of Global, Public Health, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (by videoconference).

Monique Potvin Kent, Charlene Elliott and Lindsey Smith Taillie each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:15 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:19 p.m., the committee resumed.

Tom Warshawski, Elise Pauzé and Lisa Wolff each made a statement and, together with Corinne Voyer, answered questions.

At 6:13 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

**Emily Barrette** 

Clerk of the Committee