

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, April 27, 2022 (12)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of March 31, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day in room B30, Senate of Canada Building and with videoconference, at 4:01 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bovey, Kutcher, Lankin, P.C., McPhedran, Omidvar and Patterson (6).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Dasko, Gerba, Moodie, Petitclerc and Poirier (5).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Cormier and Loffreda (3).

Participating in the meeting: Andrea Mugny and Barbara Reynolds, procedural clerks, Martine Willox, Legislative Clerk, Marc-André Lanthier and Lori Meldrum, administrative assistants, Committees Directorate; Laura Blackmore, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, December 8, 2021, the committee continued its examination of Bill S-203, An Act respecting a federal framework on autism spectrum disorder.

The committee resumed clause-by-clause consideration of Bill S-203.

It was agreed that the bill, as amended, carry.

At 4:04 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:05 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft report.

At 4:07 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:08 p.m., the committee resumed in public.

It was agreed that the chair report Bill S-203, with amendments and observations to the Senate.

At 4:11 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:15 p.m., the committee resumed.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, April 7, 2022, the committee began its examination of Bill S-208, An Act respecting the Declaration on the Essential Role of Artists and Creative Expression in Canada.

WITNESSES:

The Honourable Senator Patricia Bovey, sponsor of the bill.

Canada's National Ballet School:

John Dalrymple, Executive Director (by videoconference).

Mass Culture:

Robin Sokoloski, Director of Organizational Development (by videoconference).

Canadian Artists Representation:

April Britski, National Executive Director (by videoconference).

The Honourable Senator Bovey made a statement and answered questions.

At 5 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:02 p.m., the committee resumed.

John Dalrymple, Robin Sokolosky and April Britski each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:46 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Dupont

Clerk of the Committee