

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, November 24, 2022 (33)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 11:32 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Bovey, Cordy, Dasko, Kutcher, Mégie, Moodie, Omidvar and Petitclerc (8).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Osler (1).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Blackmore, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 10, 2022, the committee continued its study on issues relating to social affairs, science and technology generally. (Topic: Canada's Temporary and Migrant Labour Force)

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

United Food and Commercial Workers of Canada:

Derek Johnstone, Special Assistant to the National President.

Migrant Workers Health Expert Working Group:

Anelyse Weiler, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Victoria;

Janet McLaughlin, Associate Professor, Department of Health Studies, Wilfrid Laurier;

Leah F. Vosko, Professor, Department of Politics, York University;

Stephanie Mayell, PhD Candidate, Department of Anthropology, University of Toronto.

Canadian Agricultural Human Resource Council:

Jennifer Wright, Acting Executive Director and Director, Operations, Programs and Partnerships.

Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Mary Robinson, President;

Brodie Berrigan, Director of Government Relations and Farm Policy.

At 11:33 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:35 a.m., the committee resumed.

Derek Johnstone and Anelyse Weiler each made a statement and, together with Janet McLaughlin and Leah F. Vosko, answered questions.

At 12:30 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:33 p.m., the committee resumed.

Jennifer Wright and Mary Robinson each made a statement and, together with Brodie Berrigan, answered questions.

At 1:25 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

**Emily Barrette** 

Clerk of the Committee