

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 1, 2023 (37)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 5 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Bovey, Dasko, Kutcher, Martin, McPhedran, Mégie, Moodie, Omidvar, Osler and Petitclerc (11).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Burey, Cardozo, Oh and Patterson (Nunavut) (4).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Blackmore and Sonya Norris, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, December 14, 2022, the committee began its consideration of Bill C-242, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (temporary resident visas for parents and grandparents).

WITNESSES:

Kyle Seeback, Member of Parliament for Dufferin—Caledon, sponsor of the bill.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Alexis Graham, Acting Director General, Social and Temporary Migration (by videoconference);

Jean-Marc Gionet, Director General, Immigration Program Guidance (by videoconference);

Craig Shankar, Director General, Migration Health (by videoconference);

James Seyler, Director, Immigration Program Guidance (by videoconference);

Ben Mitchell, Counsel, Legal Services (by videoconference).

Department of Finance Canada:

Khusro Saeedi, Acting Senior Director, Framework Policy, Financial Institutions Division (by videoconference);

Phaedra Sydor, Senior Advisor and Economist, Financial Institutions Division (by videoconference).

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions:

Darrell Leadbetter, Senior Director, Insurance (by videoconference).

Kyle Seeback made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:45 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6 p.m., the committee resumed.

Alexis Graham made a statement and, together with Jean-Marc Gionet, Craig Shankar, James Seyler and Khusro Saeedi, answered questions.

At 6:39 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Emily Barrette

Clerk of the Committee