

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, March 29, 2023 (47)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 4 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Bovey, Burey, Dasko, Kutcher, Lankin, P.C., McPhedran, Moodie, Omidvar, Osler, Petitclerc and Poirier (12).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Blackmore and Sonya Norris, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 9, 2023, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-22, An Act to reduce poverty and to support the financial security of persons with disabilities by establishing the Canada disability benefit and making a consequential amendment to the Income Tax Act.

WITNESSES:

Cerebral Palsy Association of Manitoba:

David Kron, Executive Director.

Kickstart Disability Arts and Culture:

Jenna Reid, Artistic Director (by videoconference);

Kait Blake, Administrative Director (by videoconference).

Arts AccessAbility Network Manitoba:

Jenel Shaw, Executive Director.

Confédération des organismes de personnes handicapées du Québec:

Paul Lupien, President (by videoconference);

André Prévost, Director General (by videoconference).

Quebec Intellectual Disability Society:

Amélie Duranleau, Executive Director (by videoconference);

Samuel Ragot, Senior Policy Analyst and Advocacy Advisor (by videoconference).

As an individual:

Sid Frankel, Associate Professor, Faculty of Social Work, University of Manitoba.

David Kron and Jenna Reid each made a statement.

At 4:13 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:48 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 4:48 p.m., the deputy chair, the Honourable Senator Bovey, took the chair.

Jenel Shaw and Side Frankel each made a statement.

At 5:01 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:18 p.m., the committee resumed.

Kait Blake made a statement and, together with David Kron, Jenel Shaw and Sid Frankel, answered questions.

At 5:41 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:42 p.m., the committee resumed.

Paul Lupien and André Prévost made a statement together, Samuel Ragot and Amélie Duranleau then made a statement together, and all answered questions.

At 6:25 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Emily Barrette

Clerk of the Committee