

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 17, 2023 (56) [English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 4:05 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Bernard, Burey, Cordy, Dasko, Kutcher, McPhedran, Mégie, Moodie, Omidvar, Osler, Petitclerc and Seidman (12).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Blackmore and Philippe Antoine Gagnon, analysts, Library of Parliament.

The chair presided over the election of a deputy chair.

The Honourable Senator Seidman moved that the Honourable Senator Cordy be deputy chair of the committee.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, April 27, 2023, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 8, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 25, 27, 28, 29, 35 and 38 of Part 4 of Bill C-47, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023. (Topic: Divisions 16, 17, 18, 19, 27, 28 and 29)

## WITNESSES:

## Canada Revenue Agency:

Mohamed Benchaouche, Director, Third Party Reporting Division, Individual Returns Directorate, Assessment, Benefit, and Service Branch.

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Kathleen Walford, Director General, Major Projects Execution, Benefits and Integrated Services Branch, Service Canada;

Malcolm Saravanamuttoo, Director General, Program Services Oversight, Citizen Services Branch, Service Canada.

## Health Canada:

David K. Lee, Chief Regulatory Officer;

Natalie Page, Director General, Natural and Non-Prescription Health Products Directorate;

Dennis Price, Director General, Consumer and Hazardous Products Safety Directorate;

Luisa Wang, Director, Strategic Policy Division, Consumer and Hazardous Products Safety Directorate;

Raouf Ali Ahmed, Manager, Strategic Policy Division, Consumer and Hazardous Products Safety Directorate;

Lindy VanAmburg, Director General, Policy and Programs, Dental Care Task Force, Strategic Policy Branch;

Kim Godard, Acting Director General, Health Product Compliance Directorate.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

David Chan, Acting Director, Asylum Policy, Performance and Governance Division;

Michelle N. Mascoll, Director General, Resettlement Policy Branch;

Peter Christensen, Assistant Director, Social and Discretionary Policy and Programs;

Uyen Hoang, Senior Director, Legislation and Program Policy.

Natalie Page, Dennis Price and Lindy VanAmburg each made a statement and, together with David K. Lee and Kim Godard, answered questions.

At 4:58 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:01 p.m., the committee resumed.

David Chan, Michelle N. Mascoll, Peter Christensen and Uyen Hoang each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:59 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that senators' staff be permitted to remain in the room during the in camera portion of the meeting.

It was agreed that the committee allow the transcription of the in camera portion of today's meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members and/or staff, and that the transcript be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

At 6:01 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

**Emily Barrette** 

Clerk of the Committee