

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Thursday, March 21, 2024 (90)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 11:29 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Audette, Burey, Cordy, Dasko, Jaffer, Mégie, Moodie, Omidvar, Osler, Petitclerc and Seidman (11).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Cormier, Oudar and Pate (3).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Blackmore and Mayra Perez-Leclerc, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, June 1, 2023, the committee continued its study of Bill S-235, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

## **WITNESSES**:

The Honourable Senator Mobina S. B. Jaffer, sponsor of the bill.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Uyen Hoang, Acting Director General, Citizenship Policy;

Stephanie Jay-Tosh, Acting Senior Director, Legislation and Program Policy;

Gayle Leith, Senior Policy Analyst, Citizenship and Passport Program Guidance;

Lauren Heyer, Counsel, Legal Services;

Lorra Thompson, Acting Director, Humanitarian and Complementary Pathways.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Derek Janhevich, Director, Inadmissibility Policy Division.

Legal Aid Ontario:

Andrew Brouwer, Senior Counsel, Refugee Law Office.

Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers:

Samuel Loeb, Member.

Canadian Immigration Lawyers Association:

Tamara Mosher-Kuczer, Member.

The Honourable Senator Mobina S. B. Jaffer made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:57 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:59 a.m., the committee resumed.

Uyen Hoang and Derek Janhevich each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:44 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:48 p.m., the committee resumed.

Andrew Brouwer, Samuel Loeb and Tamara Mosher-Kuczer each made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:29 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

**Emily Barrette** 

Clerk of the Committee