

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 9, 2024 (97)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 11:37 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Burey, Cordy, Dasko, Kingston, McBean, Mégie, Moodie, Omidvar, Osler and Seidman (10).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Blackmore and Diana Ambrozas, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, June 1, 2023, the committee continued its study of Bill S-249, An Act respecting the development of a national strategy for the prevention of intimate partner violence.

WITNESSES:

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Francis Lanouette, Co-chair, Crime Prevention, Community Safety and Well-being Committee.

Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians:

Dr. Kari Sampsel, Member, Public Affairs Committee.

Canadian Psychiatric Association:

Dr. Donna Stewart, Member (by videoconference).

Registered Nurses Association of Ontario:

Doris Grinspun, Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

Canadian Domestic Homicide Prevention Initiative:

Katreena Louise Scott, Collaborator, and Academic Director, Centre for Research and Education on Violence Against Women and Children (CREVAWC) (by videoconference).

As an individual:

Patrina Duhaney, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Social Work, University of Calgary (by videoconference).

Francis Lanouette and Dr. Kari Sampsel each made a statement.

At 11:52 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:53 a.m., the committee resumed.

Dr. Donna Stewart and Doris Grinspun each made a statement and, together with Francis Lanouette and Dr. Kari Sampsel, answered questions.

At 12:29 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:31 p.m., the committee resumed.

Katreena Louise Scott and Patrina Duhaney each made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:13 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Ericka Dupont

Clerk of the Committee