

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 22, 2024 (98)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 4:15 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Burey, Cormier, Cuzner, Dasko, McBean, McPhedran, Mégie, Moodie, Omidvar, Osler and Seidman (12).

Participating in the meeting: Laura Blackmore and Mayra Perez-Leclerc, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee began its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 3, 4, 5, 14, 21, 22, 23, 31, 32 and 38 of Part 4 of Bill C-69, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 16, 2024. (Topic: Divisions 3, 4, 5, 14, 21, 22, 31, and 32)

## WITNESSES:

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Hugues Vaillancourt, Senior Director, Social Policy Directorate, Strategic and Service Policy Branch;

Jonathan Wallace, Director General, Canada Student Financial Assistance Program;

Christina Norris, Director General, Canada Education Savings Program;

Neal Leblanc, Director, Canada Pension Plan (CPP) Policy and Legislation;

Douglas Wolfe, Director General, Policy Development and Legislative Reform, Labour Program;

Neil Burron, Manager, Strategic Policy and Legislative Reform;

Charles Philippe Rochon, Senior Policy Analyst, Labour Program.

Canadian Trucking Alliance:

Stephen Laskowski, President;

Jonathan Blackham, Director, Policy and Public Affairs (by videoconference).

Canadian Labour Congress:

Bea Bruske, President (by videoconference).

Christina Norris and Douglas Wolfe each made a statement and, together with Hugues Vaillancourt and Jonathan Wallace, answered questions.

At 5:25 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:31 p.m., the committee resumed.

Stephen Laskwoski and Bea Bruske each made a statement and, together with Jonathan Blackham, answered questions.

At 6:13 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Sara Gajic

Acting Clerk of the Committee