

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 30, 2024 (102)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:46 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Julie Miville-Dechêne, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Cuzner, Dasko, Fridhandler, Miville-Dechêne and Simons (6).

Participating in the meeting: Jed Chong and Khamla Heminthavong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 10, 2022, the committee continued its study on matters relating to transport and communications generally. (Topic: Local services provided by CBC/Radio-Canada)

WITNESSES:

Friends of Canadian Media:

Marla Boltman, Executive Director (by videoconference);

Sarah Andrews, Director, Government and Media Relations (by videoconference).

Numeris:

Derrick Gray, Chief Research and Operations Officer (by videoconference).

Canadian Association of Broadcasters:

Kevin Desjardins, President.

OpenMedia:

Matthew Hatfield, Executive Director (by videoconference).

As individuals:

Kirk LaPointe, Journalist, Adjunct Journalism Professor, University of British Columbia (by videoconference);

April Lindgren, Professor, School of Journalism, Toronto Metropolitan University (by videoconference).

April Lindgren, Marla Boltman, Sarah Andrews and Derrick Gray each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:44 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:47 p.m., the committee resumed.

Kevin Desjardins, Matt Hatfield and Kirk LaPointe each made a statement and questions.

At 8:44 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Angus Wilson

Clerk of the Committee