

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, June 22, 2022 (13)

[English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 6:31 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cormier, Dasko, Dawson, Klyne, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Simons, Sorensen and Wallin (9).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Busson, Housakos and Quinn (3).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Clement and Ringuette (2).

Participating in the meeting: Shaila Anwar, Clerk Assistant and Brigitte Martineau, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Khamla Heminthavong and Jed Chong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Canadian Heritage:

Thomas Owen Ripley, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs;

Michel Sabbagh, Director General, Broadcasting, Copyright and Creative Marketplace Branch, Cultural Affairs;

Amy Awad, Senior Director, Broadcasting, Copyright and Creative Marketplace Branch, Cultural Affairs.

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission:

Ian Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer;

Scott Hutton, Chief of Consumer, Research and Communications;

Sheehan Carter, Director General, Strategic Policy;

Rachelle Frenette, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director.

Thomas Owen Ripley made a statement and, together with Amy Awad, answered questions.

At 7:40 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:41 p.m., the committee resumed.

lan Scott made a statement and, together with Scott Hutton and Rachelle Frenette, answered questions.

At 8:29 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee