

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Thursday, September 15, 2022 (16)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 10:03 a.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Clement, Dasko, Harder, P.C., Housakos, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn, Simons and Sorensen (8).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong and Jed Chong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES:

Corus Entertainment Inc.:

Troy Reeb, Executive Vice President, Broadcast Networks (by videoconference).

Quebecor Media Inc.:

Pierre Karl Péladeau, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Peggy Tabet, Vice-President, Regulatory and Environmental Affairs.

Anthem Sports and Entertainment:

Leonard Asper, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference);

Anthony Cicione, President, Game Media Group (by videoconference).

Spotify:

Regan Smith, Head of Public Policy, Government Affairs (by videoconference);

Nathan Wiszniak, Head of Artist and Label Partnerships (by videoconference).

The Walt Disney Company:

David Fares, Vice President, Global Public Policy (by videoconference).

Digital Media Association:

Garrett Levin, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

Troy Reeb, Pierre Karl Péladeau and Leonard Asper each made a statement and, together with Peggy Tabet and Anthony Cicione, answered questions.

At 11:16 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:21 a.m., the committee resumed.

Regan Smith, David Fares and Garrett Levin each made a statement and, together with Nathan Wiszniak, answered questions.

At 12:33 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee