

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Thursday, September 15, 2022 (17)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 1:31 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Dasko, Dawson, Harder, P.C., Housakos, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn, Simons, Sorensen and Wallin (10).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong and Jed Chong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES:

Alliance des producteurs francophones du Canada:

Carol Ann Pilon, Executive Director (by videoconference).

Association québécoise de la production médiatique:

Hélène Messier, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

Fédération des télévisions communautaires autonomes du Québec:

Amélie Hinse, General Director;

Catherine Edwards, Executive Director.

Canadian Association of Broadcasters:

Kevin Desjardins, President.

Canadian Media Producers Association:

Reynolds Mastin, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference);

Haydn Wazelle, President of Tabula Dada Productions (by videoconference).

Independent Broadcast Group:

Joel Fortune, Legal Counsel;

Luc Perreault, Strategic Advisor, Stingray Group.

Carol Ann Pilon, Hélène Messier and Amélie Hinse each made a statement and, together with Catherine Edwards, answered questions.

At 2:45 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 2:50 p.m., the committee resumed.

Kevin Desjardins, Reynolds Mastin and Joel Fortune each made a statement and, together with Haydn Wazelle and Luc Perreault, answered questions.

At 4:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee