

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Wednesday, September 28, 2022 (21)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:46 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Clement, Cormier, Dasko, Dawson, Housakos, Klyne, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Plett, Quinn, Simons, Sorensen and Wallin (13).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Richards (1).

Participating in the meeting: Jed Chong and Khamla Heminthavong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES:

Digital First Canada:

Scott Benzie, Managing Director (by videoconference).

Skyship Entertainment:

Morghan Fortier, Co-Owner and Chief Executive Officer.

Quebec English-Language Production Council:

- Michael Prupas, Member of Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer of Muse Entertainment (by videoconference);
- Michael Solomon, President and President of Les Films Band With Pictures Inc. (by videoconference).

Dadan Sivunivut:

Jean LaRose, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

Accessible Media Inc.:

Kevin J. Goldstein, Outside Regulatory Counsel (by videoconference);

David Errington, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

Scott Benzie, Morghan Fortier and Oorbee Roy each made a statement and answered questions.

As an individual:

Oorbee Roy, content creator and skateboarder (by videoconference).

At 7:36 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:44 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 8:01 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 8:05 p.m., the committee resumed.

Michael Prupas, Michael Solomon, Jean LaRose and David Errington each made a statement and, together with Kevin J. Goldstein, answered questions.

At 8:55 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee