

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Tuesday, November 1, 2022 (28)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Cormier, Dasko, Dawson, Gagné, Housakos, Klyne, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn, Simons, Sorensen and Wallin (13).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, October 25, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES:

**Unifor:** 

Randy Kitt, Media Sector Director (by videoconference).

Writers Guild of Canada:

Neal McDougall, Acting Co-Executive Director, Director of Policy (by videoconference);

Alex Levine, President (by videoconference).

Screen Composers Guild of Canada:

John Welsman, President.

Provincial Council of the Communications Sector of the Canadian Union of Public Employees:

Tulsa Valin-Landry, President, Provincial Council of the Communications Sector (by videoconference);

Nathalie Blais, Research Representative, Canadian Union of Public Employees (by videoconference).

Radio Canada International Action Committee:

Wojtek Gwiazda, Spokesperson.

Randy Kitt, Neal McDougall, Alex Levine and John Welsman each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:04 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:08 a.m., the committee resumed.

Tulsa Valin-Landry, Nathalie Blais and Wojtek Gwiazda each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:59 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee