

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, November 2, 2022 (29)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:46 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Cormier, Dasko, Dawson, Gagné, Housakos, Klyne, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Simons, Sorensen and Wallin (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Dalphond (1).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong, analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, October 25, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Association des réalisateurs et réalisatrices du Québec:

Gabriel Pelletier, President;

Mylène Cyr, Executive Director.

Société des auteurs de radio, télévision et cinéma:

Pauline Halpern, Executive Director;

Luc Thériault, Treasurer;

Robert Armstrong, Consultant.

Canadian Taxpayers Federation:

Jay Goldberg, Ontario Director.

Canadian Federation of Musicians:

Alan Willaert, Vice-President from Canada, American Federation of Musicians.

Guilde des musiciens et musiciennes du Québec:

Luc Fortin, President.

Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec:

Alexandre Alonso, Executive Director.

Gabriel Pelletier, Mylène Cyr, Luc Thériault and Jay Goldberg each made a statement and, together with Pauline Halpern and Robert Armstrong, answered questions.

At 7:54 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:58 p.m., the committee resumed.

Alan Willaert, Luc Fortin and *Alexandre Alonso each made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:42 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee

*The live intervention in the original language as well as the official transcription of the testimony in both official languages constitute the official record of this meeting.