

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 7, 2023 (42)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:02 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Dasko, Housakos, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn, Simons and Wallin (8).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Patterson (Nunavut) (1).

Participating in the meeting: Jed Chong and Khamla Heminthavong, Analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, November 3, 2022, the committee began its examination of Bill S-242, An Act to amend the Radiocommunication Act.

WITNESSES:

The Honourable Senator Dennis Glen Patterson, sponsor of the bill.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Matthew Kellison, Acting Director General, Spectrum Policy Branch;

Marc-André Rochon, Senior Director, Spectrum Management Operations Branch.

As an individual:

Claudine Santos, Director of Parliamentary Affairs, Office of the Honourable Senator Dennis Glen Patterson.

The Honourable Senator Wallin moved:

That the committee hold a meeting on the following week to study recent issues related to public air travel with the Minister of Transport and the heads of Canada's major airline companies pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on February 10, 2022,

authorizing the examination of the impacts of climate change on critical infrastructure in the transportation and communications sectors and the consequential impacts on their interdependencies.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

The Honourable Senator Patterson (*Nunavut*) made a statement and, together with Claudine Santos, answered questions.

At 10:03 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:07 a.m., the committee resumed.

Matthew Kellison made a statement and, together with Marc-André Rochon, answered questions.

At 11:04 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee