

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, March 8, 2023 (46)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:47 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cardozo, Clement, Cormier, Housakos, Klyne, Manning, Patterson (Nunavut) and Richards (8).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong and Jed Chong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, November 3, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-242, An Act to amend the Radiocommunication Act.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Nisga'a Lisims Government:

Eva Clayton, President.

As individuals:

Jeff Church, Professor, Department of Economics, University of Calgary.

Len Waverman, Professor, McMaster University.

Eva Clayton made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:35 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:45 p.m., the committee resumed.

Jeff Church and Len Waverman each made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:44 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.
ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee