

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 10, 2023 (54)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:47 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Julie Miville-Dechêne, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cardozo, Clement, Dasko, Harder, P.C., Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Ringuette and Simons (8).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong and Jed Chong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, April 18, 2023, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-18, An Act respecting online communications platforms that make news content available to persons in Canada.

WITNESSES:

Canadian Association of Broadcasters:

Kevin Desjardins, President.

Canadian Association for Community Television Users and Stations:

Catherine Edwards, Executive Director;

Amélie Hinse, Director General, Fédération des télévisions communautaires autonomes du Québec.

Canadian University Press:

Amy St. Amand, Vice-President (by videoconference);

Hannah Theodore, Director of Operations (by videoconference).

Hebdos Québec:

Sylvain Poisson, Director General (by videoconference);

Benoit Chartier, Chairman of the Board of Directors (by videoconference).

As an individual:

Dwayne Winseck, Professor, School of Journalism and Communication and Director of the Global Media & Internet Concentration Project, Carleton University.

Kevin Desjardins, Catherine Edwards, Amélie Hinse and Amy St. Amand each made a statement and, together with Hannah Theodore, answered questions.

At 7:45 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:49 p.m., the committee resumed.

Sylvain Poisson, Benoit Chartier and Dwayne Winseck each made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:45 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee