

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 16, 2023 (55)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Cardozo, Clement, Cormier, Dasko, Harder, P.C., Housakos, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn, Simons and Wallin (11).

Participating in the meeting: Jed Chong, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, April 27, 2023, the committee began its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Division 2 of Part 3, and Divisions 22 and 23 of Part 4 of Bill C-47, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

WITNESSES:

Canadian Transportation Agency:

France Pégeot, Chair and Chief Executive Officer;

Tom Oommen, Director General, Analysis and Outreach Branch.

Canadian Air Transport Security Authority:

Neil Parry, Senior Vice-President, Operations;

Nancy Fitchett, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs and Chief Financial Officer.

Air Passenger Rights:

Gábor Lukács, President (by videoconference).

National Airlines Council of Canada:

Jeff Morrison, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

As an individual:

Duncan Dee, Former Air Canada Chief Operating Officer (by videoconference).

France Pégeot and Neil Parry each made a statement and, together with Tom Oommen and Nancy Fitchett, answered questions.

At 9:58 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:04 a.m., the committee resumed.

Gábor Lukács, Jeff Morrison and Duncan Dee each made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:02 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:02 a.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft agenda (future business).

At 11:11 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee