

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 17, 2023 (56)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:46 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cardozo, Clement, Dasko, Harder, P.C., Housakos, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn and Simons (9).

Participating in the meeting: Jed Chong and Khamla Heminthavong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, April 27, 2023, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Division 2 of Part 3, and Divisions 22 and 23 of Part 4 of Bill C-47, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

APPEARING:

The Honourable Omar Alghabra, P.C., M.P., Minister of Transport.

WITNESSES:

Transport Canada:

Serge Bijimine, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy;

Colin Stacey, Director General, Air Policy;

Tamara Rudge, Director General, Surface Transportation Policy;

Alain Langlois, Senior General Counsel and Executive Director, Transport and Infrastructure Legal Services.

The minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:56 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 8 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft agenda (future business).

At 8:17 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee