

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 30, 2023 (57)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cardozo, Clement, Cormier, Dasko, Harder, P.C., Housakos, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn, Simons and Wallin (11).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, April 18, 2023, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-18, An Act respecting online communications platforms that make news content available to persons in Canada.

WITNESSES:

News Media Canada:

Paul Deegan, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Pierre-Elliott Levasseur, President of LaPresse and Director of News Media Canada.

Le Devoir:

Brian Myles, Director (by videoconference).

The Globe and Mail:

Phillip Crawley, Chief Executive Officer and Publisher.

Canadaland:

Jesse Brown, Publisher (by videoconference).

Village Media:

Jeff Elgie, Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

As an individual:

Jen Gerson, Independent Journalist (by videoconference).

Paul Deegan, Brian Myles and Phillip Crawley each made a statement and, together with Pierre-Elliott Levasseur, answered questions.

At 10 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:06 a.m., the committee resumed.

Jesse Brown, Jeff Elgie and Jen Gerson each made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:01 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee