

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 13, 2024 (77)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:02 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Julie Miville-Dechêne, presiding.

*Members of the committee present:* The Honourable Senators Cardozo, Clement, Dasko, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn and Simons (6).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 10, 2022, the committee continued its study on the impacts of climate change on critical infrastructure in the transportation and communications sectors and the consequential impacts on their interdependencies.

WITNESSES:

Ocean Networks Canada:

Kate Moran, President and Chief Executive Officer (by videoconference).

Railway Association of Canada:

Marc Brazeau, President and Chief Executive Officer.

British Columbia Trucking Association:

Dave Earle, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Chamber of Shipping:

Bonnie Gee, President.

As individuals:

- Vanessa Lueck, Researcher-in-Residence, Living with Water project, Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions, University of Victoria (*by videoconference*);
- Stephanie Chang, Professor, School of Community and Regional Planning, Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability, University of British Columbia (*by videoconference*).

Kate Moran, Vanessa Lueck and Stephanie Chang each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:58 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:02 a.m., the committee resumed.

It was agreed that notwithstanding usual practice and pursuant to rule 12-17, the committee be authorized to hold today's meeting without a quorum if necessary for the purpose of receiving and publishing evidence, provided that two committee members are present.

At 10:03 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:12 a.m., the committee resumed.

Marc Brazeau, Dave Earle and Bonnie Gee each made a statement and answered questions.

At 11 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Angus Wilson

Clerk of the Committee