

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 8, 2024 (87)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:47 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Dasko, Housakos, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn and Simons (6).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Cuzner and Robinson (2).

Participating in the meeting: Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, April 17, 2024, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-273, An Act to declare the Chignecto Isthmus Dykeland System and related works to be for the general advantage of Canada.

WITNESSES:

Infrastructure Canada:

- Annie Geoffroy, Director General, Regional Programs, Operations and Engagement, Communities and Infrastructure Programs Branch;
- Shawn Hibbard, Director General (Major Bridges and Projects), Investment, Partnerships and Innovation;

Rachel Heft, Legal Counsel.

Public Services and Procurement Canada:

Stefan Dery, Director General, Infrastructure Asset Management;

Mani Taheri, Legal Counsel (by videoconference).

As individuals:

- Andrew Leach, Professor, Faculty of Arts (Economics) and Faculty of Law, University of Alberta (by videoconference);
- Emmett Macfarlane, Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Waterloo (by videoconference);
- Nicole O'Byrne, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of New Brunswick (by videoconference).

Stefan Dery, Annie Geoffroy, Shawn Hibbard, Rachel Heft and Mani Taheri answered questions.

At 7:49 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:54 p.m., the committee resumed.

Nicole O'Byrne, Andrew Leach and Emmett Macfarlane each made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:45 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Angus Wilson

Clerk of the Committee