

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 22, 2024 (89)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:48 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Dasko, Housakos, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn and Simons (6).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Oudar (1).

Participating in the meeting: Jed Chong and Khamla Heminthavong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 27 and 37 of Part 4 of Bill C-69, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 16, 2024.

WITNESSES:

Transport Canada:

Vincent Robitaille, Assistant Deputy Minister, High Frequency Rail;

Chantale Côté, Director General, Policies, Integration and Governance, High Frequency Rail;

François Camiré, Director General, Technical, Engineering and Impact Assessment, High Frequency Rail;

Luis Miguel Izquierdo Martin, Acting Director General, Commercial and Procurement, High Frequency Rail;

Natalie Dolan, Executive Director, Policy, High Frequency Rail.

Vincent Robitaille made a statement and, together with Chantale Côté, François Camiré, Luis Miguel Izquierdo Martin and Natalie Dolan, answered questions.

At 7:43 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:47 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that the committee allow the audio recording of the in camera portion of today's meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members and/or staff, and that the audio recording be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

At 8:10 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Angus Wilson

Clerk of the Committee