

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 28, 2024 (90)

[English]

The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:01 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cardozo, Clement, Cuzner, Housakos, Miville-Dechêne, Quinn and Simons (7).

Participating in the meeting: Jed Chong and Khamla Heminthavong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 27 and 37 of Part 4 of Bill C-69, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 16, 2024.

WITNESSES:

OpenMedia:

Matt Hatfield, Executive Director (by videoconference).

Public Interest Advocacy Centre:

John Lawford, Executive Director and General Counsel;

Myka Kollmann, articling student.

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission:

Scott Hutton, Chief, Consumer, Research and Communications;

Nanao Kachi, Director, Social and Consumer Policy.

Matt Hatfield, John Lawford and Myka Kollmann each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:51 a.m., the committee resumed.

Scott Hutton made a statement and, together with Nanao Kachi, answered questions.

At 10:51 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Angus Wilson

Clerk of the Committee