Thursday, February 22, 2007

The Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages has the honour to table its


FOURTH REPORT

Your Committee, which was authorized by the Senate on Thursday, April 27, 2006 to study and to report from time to time on the application of the Official Languages Act and of the regulations and directives made under it, within those institutions subject to the Act, now tables its fourth report, an interim report on the proposed Regulations introduced in response to the Federal Court decision in Doucet v. Canada.

Respectfully submitted.

MARIA CHAPUT
Chair


Interim Report on the proposed Regulations introduced in response to the Federal Court decision in Doucet v. Canada

Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages 

The Honourable Maria Chaput, Chair
The Honourable Andrée Champagne, P.C., Deputy Chair

February 2007


membership

THE STANDING SENATE COMMITTEE ON OFFICIAL LANGUAGES

39th Parliament, 1st Session 

The Honourable Maria Chaput, Chair
The Honourable Andrée Champagne, P.C., Deputy Chair 

and 

The Honourable Senators:

Gerald J. Comeau
* Céline Hervieux Payette, P.C. (or Tardif)
Mobina S.B. Jaffer
*Marjory LeBreton, P.C. (or Gerald Comeau)
Rose-Marie Losier Cool
Lowell Murray, P.C.
Claudette Tardif
Marilyn Trenholme Counsell 

* Ex officio members 

Other Senators who have participated from time to time on this study:
The Honourable Senators Carstairs, P.C., Munson, Nolin, Ringuette and Robichaud, P.C. 

Analysts from the Parliamentary Information and Research Service of the Library of Parliament:

Marie-Ève Hudon
Élise Hurtubise-Loranger  

Committee Clerk:
Gaëtane Lemay


Order of reference

Extract from the Journals of the Senate, Thursday, April 27, 2006:

The Honourable Senator Chaput moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator Ringuette:

That the Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages be authorized to study and to report from time to time on the application of the Official Languages Act and of the regulations and directives made under it, within those institutions subject to the Act;

That the Committee be authorized to study the reports and papers produced by the Minister of Official Languages, the President of the Treasury Board, the Minister of Canadian Heritage and the Commissioner of Official Languages as well as any other material concerning official languages generally;

That papers and evidence received and taken during the Thirty-eighth Parliament be referred to the Committee; and

That the Committee report from time to time to the Senate but no later than June 30, 2007.

After debate,

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Paul C. Bélisle
Clerk of the Senate


On April 27, 2006, your committee was asked to study and report on the application of the Official Languages Act and the regulations and directives made under it, within the institutions subject to the Act. Your committee hereby submits a report on the proposed Regulations introduced in response to the Federal Court decision in Doucet v. Canada.([1]) 

 

Background 

On October 7, 2006, the government published a proposed amendment to the Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations in the Canada Gazette([2]) in order to make it consistent with the decision handed down by the Federal Court in Doucet v. Canada

The Doucet case began in March 1998 when the applicant was arrested for speeding by a Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) officer on the Trans-Canada Highway in Amherst, Nova Scotia. The RCMP officer was unable to speak French. Under section 20(1) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, a member of the public in Canada has the right to communicate with a federal institution in the official language of its choice where there is a significant demand for services in both languages or where, due to the nature of the office, services from that office in both English and French are justified.

As defined in the Official Languages Regulations, "significant demand" is evaluated primarily on a numerical basis. According to the criterion set out in section 5(1)h)i) of the Regulations, there is no significant demand in the Amherst area because there are fewer than 500 French-speakers in this rural area and account for less than 5 per cent of the local population. 

The applicant contested the validity of this subparagraph, which determines significant demand solely on the basis of the local population and therefore fails to consider the number of Francophones travelling on the Trans-Canada Highway. Amherst is located close to the border with New Brunswick, specifically the border with a part of New Brunswick where Francophones make up 38 per cent of the population. The Court ruled that the number of Francophones travelling on this section of the Trans-Canada Highway was high enough to constitute significant demand, pursuant to Charter paragraph 20(1)a).

The Federal Court thus ruled that subparagraph 5(1)(h)(i) of the Regulations, which determines the existence of significant demand solely on the basis of the local population, was inconsistent with Charter paragraph 20(1)(a). This violation of a constitutional right is not justifiable under Charter Section 1. The Court ordered that the Official Languages Regulations be amended within 18 months; the deadline was later extended to 36 months.

As we mentioned above, the proposed Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette on October 7, 2006 in response to the order from the Federal Court. However, the proposed Regulations put forward by the government did not amend subparagraph 5(1)h)i) of the Official Languages Regulations, but rather added the following paragraph to Regulations subsection 6(1) under “Specific Circumstances”:

f) the office or facility is a Royal Canadian Mounted Police detachment that provides services in a province to sections of the Trans-Canada Highway where there is a point of entry to another province that is officially bilingual, and over a year at least 5 per cent of the demand from the public for those services is in that language.

 

Consequently, an RCMP detachment would have the obligation to provide services in the language of the minority:

  • if it provides services on a section of the Trans-Canada Highway;
  • if there is a point of entry to a bilingual province (New Brunswick) along the highway section; and
  • if at least 5 per cent of the demand for services from the public is in either official language.

 

According to these cumulative criteria, it may be concluded that the only detachment affected by the new paragraph is the one in Amherst, Nova Scotia.

Subsection 86(1) of the Official Languages Act states that interested persons may make representations concerning the proposed Regulations to the President of the Treasury Board within 30 days after the date of publication of the notice.  Only the days where both Houses of Parliament are sitting are taken into account.

 

EVIDENCE 

In the fall of 2006 and early winter 2007, your committee heard evidence from five witnesses about the proposed Regulations. Their testimony is summarized in the following paragraphs.

 

Commissioner of Official Languages

In his appearance before your committee on November 6, 2006, the Commissioner of Official Languages described the government approach as “minimalist” since the proposed Regulations would impose language obligations on a single RCMP detachment, the one in Amherst. The Commissioner said he would have preferred that the government take the opportunity to look at modernizing the Regulations.

The Commissioner added that he could not support the proposed Regulations as they were currently worded. It was his view that the requirement to show that the annual demand for services of at least 5 per cent ignored the Federal Court decision in the Doucet case. In this case, the judge had accepted the evidence that the demand for services in French on the part of the travelling public was well in excess of 5 per cent of the annual overall demand. The Commissioner then suggested that the proposed Regulations be amended by removing the obligation to assess the level of demand.

 

Association des juristes d’expression française de la Nouvelle-Écosse (AJEFNE)

Representatives from AJEFNE appeared before your committee on November 20, 2006. The Association is of the view that the proposed Regulations do not respond to the concerns of the Federal Court in the Doucet case. Furthermore, it is not consistent with the commitment made by the government in Part VII of the Official Languages Act. According to AJEFNE, the government's restrictive approach does not encourage members of the public to use either official language with RCMP officers. AJEFNE would like to see an amendment to the Regulations acknowledging the special mandate of the RCMP detachments that patrol the Trans-Canada Highway, to ensure that services are always available in both official languages. The Association suggests that the following paragraph be added to section 8 of the Regulations:

d) where an office or facility is a detachment of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police that, in a province, provides services on sections of the Trans-Canada Highway.

The AJEFNE would also like to see changes to the significant demand criteria to recognize the right of travellers on the Trans-Canada Highway to be served by the RCMP in the official language of their choice. It suggested that the following be added to section 7 of the Regulations dealing with the rights of the travelling public:

(4)f) the office or facility is a detachment of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police serving the public travelling on the Trans-Canada Highway in a province where the total number of travellers on the Trans-Canada Highway is at least 500,000 a year. 

Adding this paragraph would ensure that the public travelling on the Trans-Canada Highway are entitled to the same rights as those using the services of an railway station or a ferry terminal or traveling on board an aircraft, a train or a ferry. The Association also believes that the establishment of criteria based on the travelling public on the Trans-Canada Highway instead of a criteria based on local population numbers, would be more in keeping with the Federal Court’s decision in the Doucet case.

 

Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada (FCFA)

The FCFA appeared before your committee on November 27, 2006. It concurred in the views expressed by the Commissioner of Official Languages and AJEFNE. The FCFA believes it is futile to require that demand be over a specific percentage when the Federal Court has already determined based on the evidence submitted that the demand for service in French in the Amherst area was far in excess of 5 per cent of the annual overall demand. Furthermore, the FCFA would have wanted to see the government acknowledging the need for services in both official languages by the public travelling on the Trans-Canada Highway. Because of a lack of legal resources, the FCFA was unable to give your committee an alternative wording for the proposed Regulations under consideration.

 

President of the Treasury Board

When he appeared before your committee on December 4, 2006, the Honourable John Baird, then President of the Treasury Board, was questioned about the minimalist approach to the proposed Regulations, an issue raised by the various witnesses who appeared before your committee. The Minister stated that the proposed Regulations were intended to provide a specific response to a specific problem and, in his view, the proposed Regulations were consistent with the letter of the Federal Court's order. The Minister mentioned, however, that he was willing to consider other suggestions.

With regard to including people travelling on the Trans-Canada Highway in the definition of travelling public, Minister Baird replied that he was prepared to consider any advice from your committee on this issue. He also suggested that the definition of travelling public could be high on Treasury Board's list of priorities, in order to promote tourism by Canadians within Canada.

Finally, with regard to modernizing the Regulations, the Minister stated that he had not yet discussed the issue with the Honourable Josée Verner, Minister responsible for Official Languages, but that he was prepared to consider counsel provided by your committee.

 

RCMP

Representatives from the RCMP appeared before your committee on February 5, 2007. They mentioned that the Amherst detachment now has two bilingual positions. One of them has already been filled by a bilingual officer and the other one will likely be filled before April 2007, to ensure the bilingual capacity of the detachment and to respect the new paragraph 6(1)f) of the Regulations. As a federal institution, the RCMP is prepared to comply with its language obligations under the Act and the Regulations. Consequently, it is ready to comply with the requirements of Parliament in the event that amendments are made to the Act and the Regulations that increase its language-related responsibilities.

In answer to questions about the possibility that RCMP services might be available in both official languages along the entire Trans-Canada Highway (in jurisdictions where the RCMP acts as the provincial police force), the RCMP representatives stated that a change of this kind would have a major impact on recruitment and training of new recruits, and on force deployment. Currently, 47 of the 122 detachments serving the Trans-Canada Highway are designated bilingual. The RCMP has not estimated the financial impact of providing bilingual services along the entire Trans-Canada Highway, nor does it have a plan for enhancing, on its own initiative, services provided to the travelling public along the Trans-Canada Highway.

With regard to its bilingual capacity in general, the RCMP estimates that bilingual officers make up about 18 per cent of the force; it feels this proportion is satisfactory because it is the same as the proportion of bilingual Canadians.([3])  In 2006, 88 per cent of the incumbents of bilingual positions providing service to the public met the language requirements of their position. In terms of language training, the RCMP said that it had recruited 40 unilingual French cadets last year and that they had taken a mandatory intensive English-language course before beginning their training at the RCMP Training Academy in Regina. French-language courses may be provided to unilingual English recruits. However, this training remains optional.

 

OBSERVATIONS and recommendations

Having examined the evidence, your committee believes that the proposed Regulations reflect a minimalist approach as they impose language obligations on a single RCMP detachment. The proposed Regulations could have had a broader reach to include situations analogous to the one found in the Doucet case in order to impose obligations on more RCMP detachments that, like the one in Amherst, patrol major highways used significantly by people of a minority official language. Moreover, this was implied in the Federal Court decision at paragraph 77.([4])

Your committee shares the view expressed by the Commissioner of Official Languages, when he states that the Federal Court decision accepted the evidence that the demand for services in French on the part of the travelling public was well in excess of 5 per cent of annual overall demand. Therefore, your committee recommends:

 

Recommendation 1

That the requirement to show that the demand by the travelling public for services from the RCMP in either official language is in excess of 5  per cent of the annual overall demand be deleted from the current wording of the proposed amendment.

 

Your committee recognizes that the RCMP has made some progress in recent years to increase the bilingual capacity of its police force. However, it notes a lack of will on the part of the RCMP to take a proactive approach and develop a plan to improve the offer of bilingual services along the Trans-Canada Highway. During their appearance before your committee, the RCMP representatives clearly stated that they wish to wait until the Act and Regulations are modified before taking action. The RCMP is a federal institution subject to Part VII of the Act and as such it has the duty to ensure that positive measures are taken for the implementation of its commitment to promote Canada’s linguistic duality.

It is your committee's view that the time has come for an in-depth revision of the  Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations to ensure, among other things, that the Regulations take into account the language rights of all those travelling on the Trans-Canada Highway. As stated in the most recent annual report of the Commissioner of Official Languages, “the Trans-Canada Highway is not used exclusively by the local population, but by the Canadian public as a whole”.([5]) Your committee is of the opinion that the Regulations must reflect this reality.

Your committee explored the question of revising the Regulations in its report entitled Understanding the reality and meeting the challenges of living in French in Nova Scotia, tabled in the Senate on October 5, 2006. In this report, your committee made two recommendations to the government. The first one recommended that the government begin a revision of the Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations to follow up on the decision handed down in the Doucet case, and is already underway. Your committee would like to take this opportunity to reaffirm its second recommendation, dealing with the provision of bilingual services by the RCMP on the Trans-Canada Highway. This proposal responds to much of the testimony heard during the session, and your committee would therefore like to reiterate it by reformulating it as follows:


 

Recommendation 2

That the government revise the Official Languages  Regulations to take into account the language rights of the travelling public on the Trans-Canada Highway and the obligation arising therefrom upon the RCMP to provide service in both official languages along the portions of this highway where it has jurisdiction. 

 

Recommendation 3

That the government require of the RCMP and transmit to the Committee, a plan outlining how the RCMP will proceed to give effect to this obligation.

 

Respectfully submitted

 

([1])     Doucet v. Canada [2004] FC 144.

([2])        http://gazetteducanada.gc.ca/partI/2006/20061007/html/regle6-e.html.

([3])     According to the 2001 Census data, 18 per cent of Canadians reported that they were bilingual.

([4])     Doucet v. Canada [2004] FC 144, para. 77.

([5])     Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages, Annual Report 2005-2006, Ottawa, 2006, p. 27.


Top of document

Le jeudi 22 février 2007 

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles a l’honneur de déposer son
QUATRIÈME RAPPORT

Votre comité, qui a été autorisé par le Sénat le jeudi 27 avril 2006 à étudier, pour en faire rapport, de façon ponctuelle, l’application de la Loi sur les langues officielles, ainsi que des règlements et instructions en découlant, au sein des institutions assujetties à la loi, dépose maintenant son quatrième rapport, un rapport provisoire portant sur le projet de règlement déposé en réponse à l’arrêt de la Cour fédérale dans l’affaire Doucet c. Canada.

Respectueusement soumis.

La présidente,
MARIA CHAPUT


Rapport provisoire portant sur le projet de règlement déposé en réponse à l’arrêt de la Cour fédérale dans l’affaire Doucet c. Canada 

Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles 

L’honorable Maria Chaput, Présidente
L’honorable Andrée Champagne, C.P., Vice-présidente

Février 2007


Membres

LE COMITÉ SÉNATORIAL PERMANENT DES LANGUES OFFICIELLES

39 elégislature, 1re session 

L’honorable Maria Chaput, Présidente
L’honorable Andrée Champagne, C.P., Vice-présidente 

et 

les honorables sénateurs : 

Gerald J. Comeau
* Céline Hervieux Payette, C.P. (ou Tardif)
Mobina S.B. Jaffer
*Marjory LeBreton, C.P. (ou Gerald Comeau)
Rose-Marie Losier Cool
Lowell Murray, C.P.
Claudette Tardif
Marilyn Trenholme Counsell 

*Membres d’office 

Autres sénateurs ayant participé, de temps à autre, aux travaux :
Les honorables sénateurs Carstairs, C.P., Munson, Nolin, Ringuette et Robichaud, C.P.  

 Analystes du Service d’information et de recherche parlementaires de la Bibliothèque du Parlement :

Marie-Ève Hudon
Élise Hurtubise-Loranger 

Greffière du comité :
Gaëtane Lemay


ORDRE DE RENVOI

Extrait des Journaux du Sénat, le jeudi 27 avril 2007 :

L'honorable sénateur Chaput propose, appuyée par l'honorable sénateur Ringuette,

Que le Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles soit autorisé à étudier, afin d'en faire rapport de façon ponctuelle, l'application de la Loi sur les langues officielles, ainsi que des règlements et instructions en découlant, au sein des institutions assujetties à la loi;

Que le Comité soit aussi autorisé à étudier les rapports et documents produits par le ministre des langues officielles, le président du Conseil du Trésor, le ministre du Patrimoine canadien et le commissaire aux langues officielles, ainsi que toute autre matière concernant les langues officielles en général;

Que les mémoires reçus et les témoignages entendus au cours de la trente-huitième législature soient renvoyés au Comité;

Que le Comité fasse de temps à autre rapport au Sénat, mais au plus tard le 30 juin 2007.

Après débat,

La motion, mise aux voix, est adoptée.

Le greffier du Sénat
Paul C. Bélisle


Le 27 avril 2006, votre comité s’est vu confier le mandat d’étudier l’application de la Loi sur les langues officielles, ainsi que des règlements et instructions en découlant, au sein des institutions assujetties à la loi.  Par la présente, votre comité soumet un rapport provisoire concernant le projet de règlement déposé en réponse à l’arrêt de la Cour fédérale dans l’affaire Doucet c. Canada([1])

 

CONTEXTE 

Le 7 octobre 2006, le gouvernement a publié un projet de règlement dans la Gazette du Canada([2]) modifiant le Règlement sur les langues officielles – communications avec le public et prestation des services, dans le but de le rendre conforme à l’ordonnance de la Cour fédérale du Canada dans l’affaire Doucet c. Canada.   

L’affaire Doucet a débuté en mars 1998 lorsque le demandeur a été arrêté pour excès de vitesse par un agent de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (ci-après « GRC ») sur la route transcanadienne à Amherst, en Nouvelle-Écosse.  Cet agent de la GRC ne pouvait pas s’exprimer en français.  En vertu du paragraphe 20(1) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, le public a le droit de communiquer dans la langue officielle de son choix avec une institution fédérale là où l’emploi de cette langue fait l’objet d’une demande importante ou lorsque la vocation de bureau le justifie.  

La notion de « demande importante » a été définie dans le Règlement sur les langues officielles et s’évalue essentiellement par des critères numériques.  En fonction du critère établi au sous-alinéa 5(1)h)i) du Règlement, la région d’Amherst ne fait pas l’objet d’une demande importante puisque la population francophone habitant cette région rurale compte moins de 500 personnes et représente moins de 5 p. 100 de l’ensemble de la population locale.

Le demandeur a contesté la validité de ce sous-alinéa qui, en évaluant uniquement la demande importante en fonction de la population locale, ne tient pas compte du volume de francophones qui circulent sur la Transcanadienne.  En effet, la région d’Amherst est située tout près de la frontière avec le Nouveau-Brunswick et, plus particulièrement, d’une région du Nouveau-Brunswick où 38 p. 100 de la population est francophone.  De ce fait, la Cour a conclu qu’un nombre suffisamment important de francophones circulent sur ce tronçon de la Transcanadienne pour constituer une demande importante au sens de l’alinéa 20(1)a) de la Charte.  

Ainsi, la Cour fédérale a déclaré que le sous-alinéa 5(1)h)i) du Règlement, qui ne tient compte que de la population locale pour évaluer l’existence ou non d’une demande importante, est incompatible avec l’alinéa 20(1)a) de la Charte.  Cette atteinte à un droit constitutionnel ne peut se justifier en vertu de l’article premier de la Charte.  La Cour a donc ordonné que le Règlement sur les langues officielles soit modifié dans un délai de 18 mois.  Ce délai a par la suite été étendu à 36 mois.  

Tel qu’indiqué ci-haut, un projet de règlement a été publié le 7 octobre 2006 dans la Gazette du Canada en réponse à cette ordonnance de la Cour fédérale.  Le projet de règlement proposé par le gouvernement ne modifie toutefois pas le sous-alinéa 5(1)h)i) du Règlement.  Il ajoute plutôt un alinéa à l’article 6 du Règlement qui porte sur des « circonstances particulières ».  Est ajouté au paragraphe 6(1) l’alinéa suivant : 

f) le bureau est un détachement de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada qui, dans une province, offre des services sur des tronçons de la route transcanadienne où se trouve un lieu d’entrée dans une autre province qui est officiellement bilingue, et au moins cinq pour cent de la demande de ces services faite par le public, au cours d’une année, est dans cette langue.

 

Ainsi, un détachement de la GRC aura des obligations en matière de langue de service : 

  • s’il offre des services sur des tronçons de la Transcanadienne;
  • s’il se trouve sur ces tronçons un lieu d’entrée à une province officiellement bilingue (Nouveau-Brunswick); et
  • si au moins 5 p. 100 de la demande de ces services faite par le public au cours d’une année est dans l’une ou l’autre langue officielle.

 

En fonction de ces critères, on arrive à la conclusion que seul le détachement d’Amherst en Nouvelle-Écosse est visé par ce libellé.  

Le paragraphe 86(1) de la Loi sur les langues officielles prévoit que les intéressés peuvent présenter leurs observations au sujet du projet de règlement au président du Conseil du Trésor dans les trente jours suivant la date de sa publication.  Seuls les jours où siègent les deux chambres du Parlement sont pris en compte.

 

TÉMOIGNAGES 

Au cours de l’automne 2006 et au début de l’hiver 2007, votre comité a entendu les propos de cinq témoins quant à ce projet de règlement.  Les paragraphes qui suivent présentent un aperçu de leurs témoignages.

 

Commissaire aux langues officielles 

Lors de sa comparution devant votre comité le 6 novembre 2006, le commissaire aux langues officielles a qualifié l’approche retenue par le gouvernement de « minimaliste » en ce que le texte proposé a pour effet d’imposer des obligations linguistiques à un seul détachement de la GRC, soit celui d’Amherst.  Le commissaire aurait plutôt souhaité que le gouvernement profite de cette occasion pour envisager une modernisation plus globale du Règlement.

Le commissaire a ajouté qu’il ne pouvait appuyer le projet de règlement dans son libellé actuel.  Il est d’avis que l’exigence d’établir une demande annuelle de services d’au moins 5 p. 100 ignore le jugement de la Cour fédérale dans l’affaire Doucet.  Dans cette affaire, le juge avait retenu la preuve que la demande de services en français de la part du public voyageur dans cette région excédait largement ce 5 p. 100.  Le commissaire a donc suggéré que le projet de règlement soit modifié en y retirant l'obligation d'évaluer la demande.

 

Association des juristes d’expression française de la Nouvelle-Écosse (AJEFNE)

L’AJEFNE, qui a témoigné devant votre comité le 20 novembre 2006, estime pour sa part que le projet de règlement ne répond pas aux préoccupations de la Cour dans l’affaire Doucet.  De plus, il contrevient à l’engagement du gouvernement énoncé à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.  Selon l’AJEFNE, l’approche limitative adoptée par le gouvernement n’encourage pas de façon positive le droit d’utiliser les services de la GRC dans l’une ou l’autre langue.  L’AJEFNE souhaite qu’une modification soit apportée au Règlement pour que soit reconnue la vocation particulière des bureaux de la GRC qui patrouillent la Transcanadienne, de façon à assurer que ces services soient toujours disponibles dans les deux langues officielles. Elle suggère donc que le paragraphe suivant soit ajouté à l’article 8 du Règlement

d) lorsque le bureau est un détachement de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada qui, dans une province, offre des services sur des tronçons de la route transcanadienne.

 

L’AJEFNE aimerait que soient également modifiés les critères de la demande importante pour que soit reconnu le droit du public voyageant sur la Transcanadienne de recevoir des services de la GRC dans la langue officielle de son choix.  Elle suggère donc que l’alinéa suivant soit ajouté à l’article 7 du Règlement qui porte sur les droits du public voyageur :

(4)f) le bureau est un détachement de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada desservant un public voyageur sur la route transcanadienne située dans une province et le nombre total de voyageurs sur la route transcanadienne, au cours d’une année, s’élève à au moins 500 000.

Un tel amendement permettrait de reconnaître le public voyageur sur la Transcanadienne au même titre que les voyageurs qui utilisent les services d’une gare ferroviaire ou de traversiers ou qui voyagent à bord d’un aéronef, d’un train ou d’un traversier.  Selon l’AJEFNE, l’établissement d’un critère fondé sur l’achalandage et non sur la population locale répondrait davantage aux préoccupations énoncées dans le jugement de la Cour fédérale dans l’affaire Doucet.

 

Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada (FCFA)

 

La FCFA, qui a témoigné devant votre comité le 27 novembre 2006, partage les avis exprimés tant par le commissaire que par l’AJEFNE.  Elle trouve qu’il est inutile d’exiger un pourcentage de demande importante lorsque la Cour fédérale a conclu, à la lumière de la preuve soumise, que la demande de services en français dans la région d’Amherst dépassait déjà largement le 5 p. 100 de la demande globale annuelle.  De plus, elle aurait aimé que le gouvernement reconnaisse les besoins de services dans les deux langues officielles du public voyageur sur la route transcanadienne.  Faute de ressources juridiques, la FCFA n’a pas été en mesure de soumettre à votre comité une proposition de rechange de libellé à propos du projet de règlement à l’étude.

 

Président du Conseil du Trésor

Lors de sa comparution devant votre comité le 4 décembre 2006, l’honorable John Baird, alors président du Conseil du Trésor, a été questionné sur la teneur minimaliste du projet de règlement tel que soulevé par les différents témoins qui ont comparu devant votre comité.  Le ministre a déclaré que le projet de règlement constituait une réponse précise à un problème précis et qu’à son avis, il respectait à la lettre l’ordonnance de la Cour fédérale.  Le ministre a toutefois soutenu qu’il était ouvert à recevoir des suggestions.

Sur la question d’inclure le public circulant sur la Transcanadienne dans la définition du public voyageur, le ministre Baird a répondu qu’il était prêt à considérer tout avis provenant de votre comité à ce sujet.  Il a de plus avancé que la question du public voyageur pourrait être un sujet au haut de la liste de priorités du ministère dans le but d’encourager le tourisme canadien au Canada.

Enfin, sur la question de la modernisation du Règlement, le ministre a déclaré qu’il n’avait pas encore abordé cette question avec la ministre responsable des langues officielles, l’honorable Josée Verner, mais qu’il était disposé à considérer les avis de votre comité à ce sujet.

 

GRC

Des représentants de la GRC ont comparu devant votre comité le 5 février 2007.  Ils ont indiqué que le détachement d’Amherst comptait maintenant deux postes bilingues.  L’un est déjà comblé par un agent bilingue et l’autre devrait l’être d’ici avril 2007, de façon à assurer la capacité bilingue de ce détachement et respecter par le fait même le nouvel alinéa 6(1)f) du Règlement.  En tant qu’institution fédérale, la GRC est disposée à respecter les obligations linguistiques qui lui incombent en vertu de la Loi et du Règlement.  Elle est donc prête à se conformer aux exigences du législateur, dans le cas où celui-ci décide de modifier la Loi ou le Règlement afin d’accroître ses obligations linguistiques.

Questionnés sur la possibilité que les services de la GRC soient disponibles dans les deux langues officielles sur l’ensemble de la Transcanadienne (dans les juridictions où la GRC agit à titre de police provinciale), les représentants de la GRC ont déclaré qu’une telle mesure aurait un impact important sur le recrutement et la formation des nouvelles recrues ainsi que sur le déploiement des forces.  À l’heure actuelle, 47 détachements desservant la Transcanadienne sur 122 sont désignés bilingues.  La GRC n’a pas estimé l’impact financier d’offrir des services bilingues sur l’ensemble de la Transcanadienne.  Elle n’a pas non plus de plan en place pour accroître, de sa propre initiative, les services offerts au public voyageur sur la Transcanadienne.

En ce qui a trait à la capacité bilingue de la force policière en général, la GRC évalue que 18 p. 100 de ses agents sont bilingues, un pourcentage qu’elle estime satisfaisant puisqu’il équivaut au pourcentage de Canadiens bilingues([3]).  En 2006, 88 p. 100 des titulaires de postes bilingues desservant le public rencontraient les exigences linguistiques de leur poste.  Pour ce qui est de la formation linguistique, la GRC affirme qu’elle a recruté 40 cadets unilingues francophones l’an dernier et que ces recrues ont suivi un programme intensif obligatoire d’apprentissage de l’anglais avant d’entreprendre leur formation à l’École nationale de formation à Regina.  Une formation en français peu être fournie aux recrues unilingues anglophones.  Elle demeure toutefois optionnelle.

 

OBSERVATIONS ET RECOMMANDATIONS 

Suite à son analyse des témoignages, votre comité est d’avis que le projet de règlement proposé adopte une approche minimaliste en ce qu’il impose des obligations linguistiques à un seul détachement de la GRC.  Le projet de règlement aurait pu avoir une portée plus large afin d’inclure des situations analogues à celle de l’affaire Doucet en visant d’autres détachements de la GRC qui, tout comme le détachement d’Amherst, patrouillent des routes importantes fréquentées par des personnes de la minorité linguistique de langue officielle qui font ou pourraient faire appel à leurs services.  C’est d’ailleurs ce que laisse entendre la Cour dans son jugement au paragraphe 77([4]).  

Votre comité partage l’avis du commissaire aux langues officielles lorsqu’il affirme que la Cour fédérale du Canada a retenu la preuve que la demande de services en français de la part du public voyageur excédait largement 5 p. 100 de la demande globale annuelle.  Par conséquent, votre comité recommande :

 

Recommandation 1 

Que soit supprimé du libellé actuel du projet de règlement l’exigence de démontrer qu’au moins 5 p. 100 de la demande globale annuelle des services offerts par la GRC est dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles.

 

Votre comité reconnaît que la GRC a fait des progrès au cours des dernières années pour accroître la capacité bilingue de ses forces policières.  Il constate toutefois un manque de volonté de la part de la GRC pour ce qui est d’adopter une approche proactive et d’élaborer un plan visant à améliorer l’offre de services bilingues sur la Transcanadienne.  Lors de sa comparution devant votre comité, la GRC a clairement indiqué vouloir attendre que la Loi et le Règlement soient modifiés avant d’agir. La GRC est une institution fédérale assujettie à la partie VII de la Loi et qu’à ce titre il lui incombe de prendre des mesures positives afin de respecter son engagement de promouvoir la dualité linguistique canadienne.  

Votre comité estime qu’il est grand temps de procéder à une réforme en profondeur du Règlement sur les langues officielles – communications avec le public et prestation des services afin que celui-ci tienne compte, entre autres choses, des droits linguistiques du public voyageant sur la Transcanadienne.  Tel que l’indique le dernier rapport annuel du commissaire aux langues officielles, « la Transcanadienne n’est pas à l’usage exclusif de la population locale, mais profite à l’ensemble du public canadien »([5]).  Votre comité est d’avis que le Règlement doit refléter cette réalité.  

Rappelons que votre comité s’est déjà penché sur la question de la révision du Règlement dans son rapport intitulé Vivre en français en Nouvelle-Écosse : une réalité à comprendre, un défi à relever, déposé au Sénat le 5 octobre 2006.  Dans ce rapport, votre comité a fait deux recommandations au gouvernement.  La première, voulant que le gouvernement procède à la révision du Règlement pour faire suite au jugement rendu dans l’affaire Doucet, est déjà en voie de réalisation.  Votre comité aimerait profiter de l’occasion pour rappeler sa seconde recommandation, qui portait sur l’offre de services bilingues par la GRC sur la Transcanadienne.  Cette proposition rejoint plusieurs des témoignages entendus au cours de la présente session, et c’est pourquoi votre comité aimerait la réitérer en la reformulant de la façon suivante :

 

Recommandation 2 

Que le gouvernement révise le Règlement sur les langues officielles afin de tenir compte des droits linguistiques du public voyageur sur la Transcanadienne et de l’obligation qui en découlerait pour la GRC de fournir des services dans les deux langues officielles sur les portions de cette route où elle a juridiction.

 

Recommandation 3 

Que le gouvernement exige de la GRC un plan détaillant comment celle-ci procédera pour mettre en œuvre cette obligation, et qu’il fasse part de ce plan au Comité.

Respectueusement soumis.


([1])     Doucet c. Canada [2004] CF 144.

([2])        http://gazetteducanada.gc.ca/partI/2006/20061007/html/regle6-f.html.

([3])     Selon les données du recensement de 2001, 18 p. 100 de la population canadienne s’identifiait comme bilingue.

([4])     Doucet c. Canada [2004] CF 144, para. 77.

([5])     Commissariat aux langues officielles, Rapport annuel 2005-2006, Ottawa, 2006, p. 27.


Haut de la page