<%ParlWebsiteContext.IncludeResources()%> <%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderHeader()%>
 

Is Canada Rising to the Arctic Challenge?

Senate Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans calls for a stronger Coast Guard to assert Canada’s presence in the North

“Rising to the Arctic Challenge: Report on the Canadian Coast Guard”.

 
 
 
Executive Summary
 
Recommendations
 
Reports
 
Background on the Canadian Coast Guard
 
Background on the study
 
Image Gallery
 
Committee Home
 
Senators
 

William Rompkey, P.C.

Ethel M. Cochrane

Willie Adams

Joan Cook

James Cowan

Elizabeth Hubley

Janis G. Johnson

Michael L. MacDonald

Fabian Manning

Nancy Greene Raine

Fernand Robichaud, P.C.

Charlie Watt



 
 
Contact Information
 
Ceri Au
Communications Officer
613-944-9145
Toll-free: 1-800-267-7362
auc@sen.parl.gc.ca

Danielle Labonté
Committee Clerk
613-949-4379
Toll-free: 1-800-267-7362
labond@sen.parl.gc.ca

 
 
< Back to News Release
Recommendations

Recommendation 1

The committee recommends that Canada uphold its position that the waters of the Northwest Passage are its internal waters, and that Canada should be prepared to defend any legal challenge.
(See pages 21-27, 42-45.)

Recommendation 2

The committee recommends that Canada develop a much stronger year-round, national presence and enforcement capability to show the world that Canada is serious about controlling the Northwest Passage, protecting Canadian interests and Canada’s northern residents, and making the waterway a safe and efficient shipping route. 
(See pages 21-27, 42-45.)

Recommendation 3

The committee recommends that the Government of Canada consider Goose Bay, Labrador, as a sub-Arctic staging area for the coordination and support of Coast Guard, fisheries, search and rescue, surveillance and other Arctic activities. 
(See pages 34 and 45, 44.)

Recommendation 4

The committee recommends that the Nunavut Marine Council (Part 4, Article 15.4.1 of the 2003 Nunavut Land Claims Agreement) be created as a forum for priority setting and planning, and as a practical means to enhance Canada’s sovereignty in marine areas. 
(See pages 36 and 44.)

Recommendation 5

The committee recommends that Canada assume a leadership role in promoting international cooperation on:  (a) issues relating to continental shelf claims; and (b) the development of a mandatory common code relating to the construction, manning and equipment of all vessels operating in the Arctic Ocean equal to Canada’s domestic standards. 
(See pages 43 and 44.)

Recommendation 6

The committee recommends that Canada demonstrate its commitment to international cooperation within the Arctic Council by re-establishing the position of Ambassador for Circumpolar Affairs (which was eliminated in 2006).
(See page 44.)

Recommendation 7

The committee recommends that the Department of National Defence make the Canadian Rangers an integral part of the Canadian reserves and provide them with marine capability. 
(See pages 35 and 45.)

Recommendation 8

The committee recommends that the Government of Canada establish an Arctic Strategy Advisory Committee, led by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, to monitor and to advise in the development and implementation of an effective and integrated strategy for the North.  The new Arctic Strategy Advisory Committee should comprise representatives from the federal government departments and agencies with a mandate in the Arctic, with particular emphasis on the Coast Guard, the various Aboriginal/Inuit groups in the region, and the three territorial governments.
(See pages 34 and 45)

Recommendation 9

The committee recommends that Inuit, with their unique knowledge of the region, be recruited for the Coast Guard whenever possible. 
(See pages 63-64, 66 and 68.)

Recommendation 10

The committee recommends that the Coast Guard, as the expert agency on the maritime situation facing Canada in the Arctic, formulate and implement a long-term strategic vision to guide it for the future. 
(See pages 65-66 and 68.)

Recommendation 11

The committee recommends that NORDREG, Canada’s current voluntary vessel traffic system in the Arctic, be made compulsory.  All foreign ships that enter Canada’s Arctic waters should be required to register with NORDREG, regardless of vessel size. 
(See pages 54-59, 67 and 69.)

Recommendation 12 The committee recommends that the federal government amend the definition of Arctic waters in the Arctic Waters Pollution Prevention Act to include the waters beyond the Arctic Archipelago to the 200-nautical-mile Exclusive Economic Zone, which is the case with other Canadian legislation, such as the Oceans Act and the Canada Shipping Act, 2001
(See pages 55-59, 67 and 69.)
Recommendation 13 The committee recommends that Canada develop a long-term plan for the acquisition of new multi-purpose heavy icebreakers “made-in-Canada” and capable of operating year-round in its Arctic Archipelago and on the continental shelf as part of an integrated approach to vessel procurement recognizing the complementarity of Coast Guard and naval vessels.  (
See pages 49-54, 67-68, and 69.)
Recommendation 14

The committee recommends the deployment of multi-mission polar icebreakers operated by the Coast Guard as a cost-effective solution to Canada’s surveillance and sovereignty patrol needs in the Arctic. 
(See pages 52-54, 68 and 69.)





 

Top of document

<%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderFooter()%>

<%ParlWebsiteContext.IncludeResources()%> <%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderHeader()%>
 

Le défi de l’Arctique : le Canada est-il à la hauteur?

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des pêches et des océans demande un renforcement de la Garde côtière pour affirmer plus vigoureusement la présence du Canada dans le Nord

Relever le défi de l’Arctique : Rapport sur la Garde côtière canadienne

 
 
 
Sommaire exécutif
 
Recommandations
 
Rapports
 
Fiche d'information - La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC)
 
Fiche d'information sur l'étude
 
Bibliothèque d'images
 
Page d'accueil du Comité
 
Senators
 

William Rompkey, C.P.

Ethel M. Cochrane

Willie Adams

Joan Cook

James Cowan

Elizabeth Hubley

Janis G. Johnson

Michael L. MacDonald

Fabian Manning

Nancy Greene Raine

Fernand Robichaud, C.P.

Charlie Watt



 
 
Contact Information
 
Ceri Au
Agente des communications
613-944-9145
Sans frais : 1-800-267-7362
auc@sen.parl.gc.ca

Danielle Labonté
Greffière du comité
613-949-4379
Sans frais : 1-800-267-7362
labond@sen.parl.gc.ca

 
 
< Retour aux communiqués
Recommandations

Recommandation 1

Le comité recommande que le Canada défende sa position voulant que les eaux du passage du Nord-Ouest soient des eaux intérieures et qu’il soit prêt à réfuter toute contestation juridique. 
(Voir pages 23-30, 48-50.)

Recommandation 2

Le comité recommande que le Canada se dote d’une plus grande capacité d’affirmer sa présence et d’appliquer les lois à longueur d’année, afin de montrer au monde qu’il est bien résolu à régir le passage du Nord-Ouest, à défendre ses intérêts et protéger sa population, et à faire de ce passage une voie de navigation sûre et efficace.
(Voir pages 23-30, 48-50.)

Recommandation 3

Le comité recommande au gouvernement du Canada d’envisager que Goose Bay, au Labrador, devienne une zone d’étape subarctique pour la coordination et le soutien des activités de la Garde côtière, de pêche, de recherche et sauvetage, de surveillance et d’autres activités menées dans l’Arctique.
(Voir pages 39 et 50, 49.)

Recommandation 4

Le comité recommande que le Conseil du milieu marin du Nunavut (partie 4, article 15.4.1 de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut de 2003) soit créé comme forum pour l’établissement des priorités et pour la planification, et comme moyen pratique de mettre en valeur la souveraineté du Canada sur ses mers.
(Voir pages 41 et 50.)

Recommandation 5

Le comité recommande que le Canada joue un rôle de premier plan dans la promotion de la coopération internationale en ce qui a trait aux questions suivantes : a) les revendications territoriales sur le plateau continental; b) l’établissement d’un code commun obligatoire pour la construction, l’équipage et l’équipement de tous les navires qui circulent dans l’océan Arctique et qui aurait le même poids que les normes nationales canadiennes.
(Voir pages 49 et 50.)

Recommandation 6

Le comité recommande que le Canada démontre son engagement envers la coopération internationale au sein du Conseil de l’Arctique en recréant le poste d’Ambassadeur aux Affaires circumpolaires, qui avait été aboli en 2006.
(Voir page 51.)

Recommandation 7

Le comité recommande que le ministère de la Défense nationale intègre les Rangers canadiens à la Réserve canadienne et les dote de moyens maritimes.
(Voir pages 40 et 51.)

Recommandation 8

Le comité recommande que le gouvernement du Canada établisse un Comité consultatif interministériel sur la stratégie arctique, piloté par Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada et chargé de le conseiller et de suivre l’élaboration et l’application d’une stratégie effective et intégrée pour le Nord.  Ce Comité serait composé de représentants des ministères et organismes fédéraux dont le mandat vise l’Arctique, des divers groupes autochtones/inuits de la région et des trois gouvernements territoriaux.
(Voir pages 39 et 51.)

Recommandation 9

Le comité recommande que la Garde côtière canadienne recrute autant que possible des Inuits pour leurs connaissances inestimables de la région.
(Voir pages 72, 75 et 77.)

Recommandation 10

Le comité recommande que la Garde côtière, en sa qualité d’organisme expert en ce qui concerne les problèmes maritimes qui se poseront au Canada dans l’Arctique, formule et applique une vision stratégique à long terme pour orienter ses activités futures.
(Voir pages 73-74 et 77.)

Recommandation 11

Le comité recommande que NORDREG, le système volontaire de trafic maritime dans l’Arctique, devienne obligatoire. Tous les navires étrangers qui pénètrent dans nos eaux arctiques devraient être tenus de s’enregistrer auprès de NORDREG, peu importe leur tonnage.
(Voir pages 61-67, 75-76 et 77.)

Recommandation 12

Le comité recommande que le gouvernement fédéral modifie la définition des eaux arctiques de la Loi sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques afin que, comme celles qui figurent dans la Loi sur les océans et la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada (2001),elle englobe les eaux qui se trouvent dans la zone économique exclusive de 200 milles (ZEE) au-delà de l’archipel Arctique.
(Voir pages 62-67, 75-76 et 78.)

Recommandation 13

Le comité recommande que le Canada élabore un plan à long terme pour acquérir des brise-glaces lourds polyvalents construits au Canada et capables de naviguer à l’année à la fois dans son archipel Arctique et sur le plateau continental dans le cadre d’une approche intégrée en matière d’acquisition qui tient compte de la complémentarité des navires de la Garde côtière et des navires militaires.
(Voir pages 56-61, 76-77 et 78.)

Recommandation 14

Le comité recommande le déploiement de brise-glaces polaires polyvalents de la Garde côtière afin de répondre de façon économique et efficace aux besoins de surveillance et de patrouille pour affirmer la souveraineté du Canada dans l’Arctique.
(Voir pages 60-61, 77 et 78.)





 

Top of document

<%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderFooter()%>