<% ParlWebsiteContext.IncludeOptionalResources = True %> The Standing Senate Committee on Fisheries and Oceans - The sustainable management of grey seal populations: A path toward the recovery of cod and other groundfish stocks <%ParlWebsiteContext.IncludeResources()%> <%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderHeader()%>

Recommendations

Recommendation 1

That the Department of Fisheries and Oceans continue to identify recovery targets and timelines, and limit reference points in accordance with the existing precautionary approach framework, for all depleted fish stocks, starting in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Recommendation 2

That the Department of Fisheries and Oceans coordinate and participate in a scientific research agenda to address the knowledge gaps identified by witnesses during this study, in order to address unique situations such as those that prevails on Sable Island and Hay Island. These gaps include the percentage of cod in the seal diet, the seals’ range on the Eastern Scotian Shelf, and the application of alternative management methods.

Recommendation 3

That starting with the 2013 season and for a period of four years, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans implement and manage a grey seal targeted removal program in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence to reduce the level of the herd by 70,000 animals; and, that this program, based on the Fisheries Resource Conservation Council’s report entitled “Towards Recovered and Sustainable Groundfish Fisheries in Eastern Canada”, work in conjunction with continuing research and evaluation which should lead to a long term sustainable management plan of grey seals in Atlantic Canada and Quebec;

That research protocols to be performed during the removal of grey seals be established to test the hypothesis that predation is the major factor preventing recovery of groundfish stocks in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, as well as to better understand and monitor the effects of the target removal; and,

That Department of Fisheries and Oceans officials appear before the Standing Senate Committee on Fisheries and Oceans at the earliest opportunity after the first harvesting season to report on the progress made with the grey seal targeted removal program.

Recommendation 4

That the harvest of grey seals be performed by qualified and trained seal harvesters under the monitoring of at-sea observers in a manner respectful of established humane harvesting protocols; and,

That adequate and fair compensation, the level of which yet to be determined, be provided to seal harvesters for each dispatched animal.

Recommendation 5

That the Department of Fisheries and Oceans support a long term sustainable grey seal harvest on the East Coast of Canada by:

  • Auditing all sealing activities ensuring that all protocols, humane and ethical harvest practices, and general “best practices” in management are being adhered to;
  • Playing a role of primary scientific advisor to the industry; and,

That the Government of Canada and its agencies promote grey seal-derived products and develop domestic and international markets for them.

Recommendation 6

That the Government of Canada (Health Canada) provide information regarding possible health benefits of omega-3 fatty acid-rich seal oil particularly as they relate to cardiovascular health; and continue research and explore the possibility of including seal oil into the next iteration of the Canada Food Guide.

Recommendation 7

That the Government of Canada re-assess the various options for the sustainable management of the grey seal herd on Sable Island and other areas of the Eastern Scotian Shelf.

<%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderFooter()%>

<% ParlWebsiteContext.IncludeOptionalResources = True %> Le Comité sénatorial permanent des pêches et océans - La gestion durable des populations de phoques gris : vers le rétablissement des stocks de morue et autres poissons de fond <%ParlWebsiteContext.IncludeResources()%> <%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderHeader()%>

Recommandations

Recommandation 1

Que le ministère des Pêches et des Océans poursuive la fixation des cibles et des échéances pour le rétablissement, ainsi que des points de référence limite, en conformité avec le cadre d’application de l’approche de précaution existant, et ce, pour tous les stocks de poissons épuisés, en commençant dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Recommandation 2

Que le ministère des Pêches et des Océans coordonne et participe à un programme de recherche scientifique pour combler les lacunes relevées par les témoins au cours de cette étude, de sorte que des situations uniques comme celles de l’île au Sable et de l’île Hay soient prises en charge. Au nombre des lacunes identifiées, on retrouve le pourcentage que représente la morue dans le régime du phoque, la distribution des phoques dans l’est du plateau néo-écossais, ainsi que l’utilisation de moyens alternatifs de contrôle de la population de phoques gris.

Recommandation 3

Qu’à compter de la saison 2013 et pour une période de quatre ans, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans mette en œuvre et gère un programme de prélèvement ciblé de phoques gris dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent dans le but de réduire le troupeau de 70 000 animaux; et que ce programme qui est fondé sur le rapport du Conseil pour la conservation des ressources halieutiques intitulé Vers le rétablissement des poissons de fond et d’une pêche durable dans l’est du Canada, opère de concert avec des activités de recherche et d’évaluation continues menant à un plan durable à long terme de gestion de la population de phoques gris au Canada atlantique et au Québec;

Que des protocoles de recherche, devant être mis en œuvre pendant le prélèvement de phoques gris, soient établis pour vérifier l’hypothèse selon laquelle la prédation est le principal facteur qui empêche le rétablissement des stocks de poisson de fond dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent; ils serviront aussi à mieux comprendre et à surveiller plus étroitement les effets du prélèvement;

Que des fonctionnaires du ministère des Pêches et des Océans comparaissent devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des pêches et océans aussitôt que possible après la première saison de chasse afin de faire rapport des progrès accomplis dans le cadre du programme de prélèvement ciblé de phoques gris.

Recommandation 4

Que le prélèvement de phoques gris soit exécuté par des chasseurs qualifiés et formés sous la surveillance d’observateurs en mer en respectant les protocoles établis pour assurer une chasse sans cruauté;

Qu’une indemnité juste et adéquate, dont le montant n’est pas encore déterminé, soit offerte aux chasseurs de phoques pour chaque animal abattu.

Recommandation 5

Que le ministère des Pêches et des Océans soutienne une chasse au phoque gris, durable et à long terme, sur la côte Est du Canada :

  • en vérifiant les activités de la chasse au phoque dans le but de veiller à ce que les protocoles, les pratiques éthiques et sans cruauté et les meilleures pratiques générales en matière de gestion soient appliqués;
  • en jouant un rôle de principal conseiller scientifique auprès de l’industrie;

Que le gouvernement du Canada et ses agences fassent la promotion des produits dérivés du phoque et développent les marchés domestiques et internationaux pour ceux-ci.

Recommandation 6

Que le gouvernement du Canada (Santé Canada) diffuse l’information sur les avantages potentiels de l’huile de phoque riche en acides gras oméga-3, notamment en ce qui a trait à la santé cardiovasculaire; qu’il continue la recherche dans ce domaine et explore la faisabilité d’ajouter l’huile de phoque dans la prochaine version du Guide alimentaire canadien.

Recommandation 7

Que le gouvernement du Canada réévalue les différentes options pour la gestion durable du troupeau de phoques gris de l’île de Sable et d’autres zones de l’est du plateau néo-écossais.

<%ParlWebsiteContext.RenderFooter()%>