<% %> The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources - DIGGING SAFELY: One-call Notification Systems and the Prevention of Damage to Canada’s Buried Infrastructure
Skip to Content

DIGGING SAFELY
One-call Notification Systems and the Prevention of Damage to Canada’s Buried Infrastructure

Photo of forks with food Photo of soldiers boardinh helicopter

Scroll down

Arrow pointing down

The Report

Executive Summary

Every year thousands of buried wires, cables, pipelines, water mains, and sewer lines are damaged in Canada by uncontrolled excavation. In most cases, these damages result in an interruption in service but sometimes they lead to injury, death and/or environmental contamination. Even if no one is harmed, each time a buried facility is struck it strains public resources such as emergency response personnel and/or results in economic costs, such as construction delays, repairs and traffic congestion. Together, these incidents are an unnecessary risk to the public, a waste of economic resources and a strain on the taxpayer/ratepayer.

Canadian one-call centres are all non-profit entities created by utilities that make it easier for excavators to contact owners and/or operators of underground infrastructure before digging. Instead of separately calling numerous utilities that could have facilities under a work-site, the excavator makes a single call to a one-call centre which then facilitates line locating services from multiple registered utilities.

Unfortunately, one-call centres are not present in every province and territory. There are six one call centres in Canada (Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia). Even in provinces that have a one-call centre, utilities are not mandated to be members of the one-call service, except in Ontario and for oil and gas pipelines in British Columbia and Alberta. Additionally, in Ontario, utilities on federal lands are not subject to provincial law to register with the province’s one-call centre.

The Committee considered the American experience with damage prevention, since the United States was an early adopter of one-call centres and the U.S. federal government has programs that encourage overall improvements in damage prevention through one-call notification systems including mandatory membership in state one-call centres.

Based on testimony from 15 witnesses representing utility and construction associations, regulators, one-call centres and Canadian and U.S. Common Ground Alliances, the Committee makes four recommendations to the federal government to improve public and worker safety and to prevent damage to buried facilities in Canada.

Photo of backhoe digging

Recommendations

Recommendation 1

That the federal government reference the CSA Z247 standard for protection and prevention of damage to buried infrastructure in relevant federal legislation and encourage provinces and territories to reference the standard in legislation.

Recommendation 2

That buried facilities on federal land be registered with a provincial or territorial one-call service; and that the federal government require anyone undertaking construction or excavation on federal land to call a one-call service, where one exists.

Recommendation 3

That the federal government require all owners of federally regulated buried infrastructure to become members of a provincial or territorial one-call service, where one exists.

Recommendation 4

That the federal government introduce a conditional provincial/territorial grant dependent on the adoption of legislation requiring mandatory participation of all owners and/or operators of underground facilities and excavators in a prescribed one-call service. The grant would be available to assist one-call centres with training, innovation, education and public awareness.

Contact information

General Information:
613-990-0088 or 1-800-267-7362

Email: ENEV@sen.parl.gc.ca

Mailing Address:
Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources
The Senate of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0A4

<% %> Le Comité sénatorial permanent de l’énergie, de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles - CREUSER EN TOUTE SÉCURITÉ: Les systèmes d’appels uniques et la prévention des dommages aux infrastructures souterraines du Canada
Passer au contenu

CREUSER EN TOUTE SÉCURITÉ
Les systèmes d’appels uniques et la prévention des dommages aux infrastructures souterraines du Canada

Photo des soldats

faire dÉfiler vers le bas

Flèche pointant vers le bas

Le rapport

Résumé

Chaque année, des milliers de fils, de câbles, de pipelines, de conduites maîtresses et de canalisations d’égout sont endommagés au Canada lors de travaux d’excavation non contrôlés. Dans la plupart des cas, ces dommages causent des interruptions de services, mais peuvent aussi entraîner des blessures, des décès ou une contamination de l’environnement. Même si personne n’est blessé, chaque bris d’infrastructure souterraine place un fardeau sur les ressources publiques comme les services d’urgence et engendre des coûts, comme des retards dans les travaux de construction, des travaux de réparation et des congestions routières. Ces incidents représentent un risque inutile pour le public, un gaspillage de ressources économiques et un fardeau supplémentaire pour les contribuables.

Les centres d’appels uniques du Canada sont des organismes sans but lucratif mis sur pied par les services publics pour permettre aux personnes qui accomplissent des travaux d’excavation de joindre facilement les propriétaires ou les exploitants d’infrastructures souterraines avant de creuser le sol. Plutôt que de communiquer avec différents services publics pour déterminer si le site de travail se trouve au-dessus d’infrastructures souterraines, les excavateurs peuvent téléphoner à un centre d’appels uniques, qui leur indiquera l’emplacement des lignes souterraines à partir de l’information fournie par différents services publics enregistrés.

Malheureusement, on ne trouve pas de centre d’appels uniques dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires. Il existe six centres d’appels uniques au Canada (Québec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta et Colombie-Britannique). Par ailleurs, les services publics de ces provinces ne sont pas tenus de devenir membre du centre d’appels, à l’exception des services publics de l’Ontario et des gazoducs et des oléoducs de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta. En outre, en Ontario, les services publics situés dans les terres fédérales ne sont pas visés par la loi provinciale obligeant l’enregistrement auprès du centre d’appels uniques de la province.

Le comité a étudié les mesures de prévention des dommages aux États-Unis parce que ce pays a depuis longtemps mis en place des centres d’appels uniques et parce que le gouvernement fédéral américain a lancé des programmes pour encourager la prévention des dommages à l’aide de systèmes d’appels uniques, notamment en rendant obligatoire l’adhésion aux centres d’appels uniques des États.

S’appuyant sur les témoignages de 15 témoins représentant des associations de services publics et de construction, des organismes de réglementation, des centres d’appels uniques et des alliances Common Ground du Canada et des États-Unis, le comité présente quatre recommandations au gouvernement fédéral afin d’améliorer la sécurité publique et la sécurité des travailleurs et pour prévenir les bris d’infrastructure souterraine au Canada.

Photo d'une excavatrice

Recommandations

Recommandation 1

Que le gouvernement fédéral ajoute une référence à la norme CSA Z247 pour la protection des infrastructures souterraines et la prévention des dégâts à celles-ci dans les lois fédérales pertinentes et encourage les provinces et les territoires à ajouter une référence à la norme dans leurs lois.

Recommandation 2

Que les infrastructures souterraines se trouvant sur les terres fédérales soient enregistrées auprès d’un centre d’appels uniques provincial ou territorial; et que le gouvernement fédéral oblige toute personne entreprenant des travaux de construction ou d’excavation sur une terre fédérale à communiquer avec un centre d’appels uniques, sur les territoires où ce type de service existe.

Recommandation 3

Que le gouvernement fédéral oblige tous les propriétaires d’infrastructures souterraines visées par la réglementation fédérale à adhérer à un centre d’appels uniques provincial ou territorial, sur les territoires où ce type de service existe.

Recommandation 4

Que le gouvernement fédéral offre une subvention provinciale/territoriale conditionnelle à l’adoption d’une loi exigeant la participation de tous les propriétaires et/ou les exploitants d’infrastructures souterraines et des excavateurs à un centre d’appels uniques déterminé. La subvention appuierait les activités des centres d’appels uniques liées à la formation, à l’innovation et à la sensibilisation.

Coordonnées du comité

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
613-990-0088 or 1-800-267-7362

Courriel : ENEV@sen.parl.gc.ca

Adresse postale :
Comité sénatorial de de l’énergie,
de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles
Le Sénat du Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0A4