Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996-97

Chairman: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON

Thursday, February 20, 1997

Issue No. 10

First meeting on: Examination of Bill C-60, an Act to establish the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and to repeal and amend other Acts as a consequence


From the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Mr. Ronald L. Doering, Executive Director, Office of Food Inspection Systems;

Mr. Regis Bourque, DFO Representative, Office of Food Inspection Systems.

From the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada:

Ms Michèle Demers, Vice-President;

Mr. Luc Grenier, Negotiator.


The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Chairman

The Honourable Daniel Hays, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Anderson, Charbonneau, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Landry, *Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Maheu, Pearson, Riel, P.C., Rossiter, St. Germain, P.C., Sparrow, Spivak, Taylor

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes to membership of the Committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Maheu substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Hays (February 20, 1997).

The name of the Honourable Senator Pearson substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Whelan (February 20, 1997).