Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chairman: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Wednesday, July 3, 1996

Issue No. 7

Ninth Proceedings on: Examination of the present state of the financial system in Canada.

The Honourable John Manley, P.C., M.P., Minister of Industry


From Industry Canada:

Mr. Peter Sagar, Director General, Entrepreneurship and Small Business Office.

From the Department of Finance:

Mr. Bob Hamilton, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch;
Mr. Frank Swedlove, Director, Financial Sector Division;
Ms Martine Doyon, Chief, Policy Development, Financial Sector Division.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chairman
The Honourable W. David Angus, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Austin, P.C., * Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Kelleher, P.C., Kenny, Kolber, * Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Meighen, Perrault, P.C., St. Germain, P.C., Simard, Stewart

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in Membership of the Committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Perrault substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Taylor (July 4, 1996).