Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chairman: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Monday, December 2, 1996
Tuesday, December 3, 1996
Thursday, December 5, 1996

Issue No. 15

Fourth, Fifth and Sixth meetings on: Bill C-5, An Act to amend the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act and the Income Tax Act


From the Canadian Insolvency Practitioners Association:

Mr. Ralph W. Peterson, President;

Mr. William J. Drake, BIA Task Force Chair;

Mr. Alan Spergel, BIA Task Force Member; and

Mr. Norman H. Kondo, Executive Director.

From the Canadian Bar Association:

Mr. Robert A. Klotz, Chair, National Section on Bankruptcy and Insolvency; and

Ms Tamara L. Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform.

From the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association:

Mr. Mark Daniels, President;

Mr. Paul Cozzi, Vice-President and Associate General Counsel, Sun Life Assurance Company Canada; and

Mr. Sam Steel, Assistant Vice-President and Associate General Counsel, Sun Life Assurance Company Canada.

From the Insolvency Institute:

Mr. E. Bruce Leonard, Chairman; and

Mr. David E. Baird, Co-Chair, Bill C-5 Review Task Force.

From Ernst & Young Inc.:

Mr. David Richardson, President.

From the Bank of Nova Scotia:

Mr. Denis Belcher, Executive Vice-President.

From the Royal Bank:

Mr. Ed Lundy, Senior Vice-President, Business Banking.

From McMillan Binch:

Mr. Andrew J.F. Kent.

From the Department of Industry:

Mr. David Tobin, Director General, Corporate Governance Branch;

Mr. Marc Mayrand, Superintendent of Bankruptcy;

Mr. Jacques Hains, Director, Corporate Law Policy Directorate;

Mr. Gordon Marantz, Legal Advisor to the Department; and

Mr. Max Mendelsohn, Legal Advisor to the Department.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chairman

The Honourable W. David Angus, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Austin, P.C., *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Kelleher, P.C., Kenny, Kolber, *Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Meighen, Oliver, Perrault, P.C., St. Germain, P.C., Stewart

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top