Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chairman: The Honourable DAVID TKACHUK

Wednesday, October 23, 1996

Issue No. 14

Fifth meeting on: Main Estimates 1996-97


From the Department of Justice:

George Thomson, Deputy Minister;

Thea Herman, Sector Chief, Policy Sector;

Harold Sandell, Legal Counsel, Judicial Affairs.


The Honourable David Tkachuk, Chairman

The Honourable Pierre De Bané, P.C., Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Bolduc, Cools, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Kelly, Lavoie-Roux, *Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Mercier, Pearson, Rizzuto, Stratton

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change to Membership of the Committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Moore substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Maheu (October 1, 1996).