Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chair: The Honourable SHARON CARSTAIRS

Thursday, April 18, 1996

Issue No. 4

Third Proceedings on: Examination of Bill C-8, An Act respecting the control of certain drugs, their precursors and other substances and to amend certain other Acts and repeal the Narcotic Control Act in consequence thereof.


For Bill C-8:

From the Hempline Inc.:

Geoff Kime, Director of Operations.

From the Canadian Industrial Hemp Lobby:

Roddy Heading, Director, Hemp Futures Study Group, member of the International Hemp Association;

Larry DuPrey, President, Hemp Club Inc. and Chanvre en Ville, Trustee, Hemp Industries Association of North America.

From Cannabis Canada:

Dana Larsen, Editor;

Marc Emery, Publisher.

Private Individuals:

Robert Hamon;

Andy Rapoch (Past president N.O.R.M.L.);

Nicholas Bureau.

From HIV/AIDS Legal Network and the Canadian AIDS Society:

Ralf Jürgens, Project Coordinator, Legal and Ethical Issue;

Russell Armstrong, Executive Director, Canadian AIDS Society.

Afternoon sitting:

From the City of Toronto:

Wade Hillier, Coordinator, Mayor's Task Force on Drugs.

From Downtown/Eastside Residents Association:

Dayle Mosely, Assistant to the Executive Director.

From the Assembly of First Nations:

Ovide Mercredi, National Chief;

Randy Bottle, Member, Alberta Health Commission;

Rufus Goodstriker, Elder;

Frank Shawbadees, Saugeen 29 First Nation (Ontario), Elder.

From the National Coalition for Health Freedom:

Miriam Hawkins, Coordinating Director;

Richard de Sylva, President, The Herb Works (Guelph, Ontario); board member, The Canadian Association of Herbal Practitioners;

Ralf Idema, President, Physicians & Surgeons for a Healthy World.


The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, Chair

The Honourable Pierre Claude Nolin, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, Bryden, Corbin, Doyle, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Jessiman, Kinsella, Lewis, Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Milne, Pearson

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Kinsella substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Ghitter. (April 17, 1996)