Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chair: The Honourable SHARON CARSTAIRS

Tuesday, June 25, 1996

Issue No. 21

Third Proceedings on: Consideration of the resolution to amend the Constitution of Canada, Term 17 of the Terms of Union of Newfoundland with Canada


For Term 17, Newfoundland resolution:

Morning sitting:

From the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops:

Most Reverend Francis J. Spence, Archbishop of Kingston; President, Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops;

Most Reverend Henri Goudreault, OMI, Bishop of Labrador City-Schefferville; Co-Treasurer, Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops;

Mr. Peter Lauwers, Legal Counsel;

Mr. Michael Harrington, Legal Counsel.

From the Canadian Catholic School Trustees' Association:

Betty Mosely-Williams, Vice-President;

Peter Lauwers, Lawyer.

From the Ontario Separate School Trustees' Association:

Patrick Daly, President;

Peter Lauwers, Legal Counsel.

From the Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association:

Paul Cavalluzzo, Lawyer;

Jim Smith, Vice President.

Afternoon sitting:

From the Evangelical Fellowship of Canada:

Bruce Clemenger, Director of National Affairs;

Danielle Shaw, Policy Coordinator;

Dr. Glenn Smith, Chair, Taskforce on Education.

Dr. Robert Carney, Department of Educational Policy Studies, University of Alberta.

From the Ottawa Board of Education:

Linda Hunter, Chairperson.


The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, Chair

The Honourable C. William Doody, Acting Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, Cogger, * Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Gigantès, Jessiman, Lewis, * Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Milne, Nolin, Pearson, Petten, Rompkey, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top