Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chair: The Honourable SHARON CARSTAIRS

Wednesday, June 26, 1996

Issue No. 22

Fourth Proceedings on: Consideration of the resolution to amend the Constitution of Canada, Term 17 of the Terms of Union of Newfoundland with Canada


For Term 17, Newfoundland resolution:

Morning sitting:

From the Federation of Independent Schools:

Frank Cvitkovitch, Q.C., President;

Fred Herfst, Vice President (B.C.)

Gary Duthler, Executive Director.

Benoît Pelletier, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa

Dale Gibson, Faculty of Law, University of Alberta

Afternoon sitting:

Ian Binnie, Lawyer.

Len Williams, Chair, Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Delivery of Programs and Services in Primary, Elementary, Secondary Education, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, March 1992.

From the Coalition pour la confessionalité scolaire:

Jocelyne St-Cyr, Coordinator, President, Association des parents catholiques du Québec;

Paul Fernandes, Chairman, Metropolitan Separate School Board (Toronto).

From the Commission des écoles catholiques de Montréal:

Michel Pallascio, Chairman;

Roger Dominguez, Independent Trustee.

From the Assembly of First Nations:

Ovide Mercredi, National Chief;

Alfred Linklater, Director of Education.


The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, Chair

The Honourable C. William Doody, Acting Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, Cogger, * Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Gigantès, Jessiman, * Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Milne, Nolin, Pearson, Petten, Poulin, Rompkey, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in Membership of Committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Poulin was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Lewis (June 26, 1996).

Back to top