Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chair: The Honourable SHARON CARSTAIRS

Wednesday, November 27, 1996

Issue No. 37

Sixth meeting on: Examination of Bill C-45, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (judicial review of parole ineligibility) and another Act


For Bill C-45:

Professor Patrick Healy, Faculty of Law, McGill University.

Professor Julian Roberts, University of Ottawa.

From the Department of Justice:

Mr. Howard Bebbington, Counsel, Judicial Affairs Unit, Public Law Sector.

From the Canadian Bar Association:

Ms Joan Berkovitch, Senior Director, Legal and Governmental Affairs;

Professor Allan Manson, Queen's University, Member of the Imprisonment and Release Committee.


The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, Chair

The Honourable Pierre Claude Nolin, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Anderson, Beaudoin, Doyle, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Ghitter, Gigantès, Jessiman, Lewis, Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Moore, Pearson

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes to the Membership of the Committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Anderson was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Milne (November 27, 1996).

Back to top