Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996-97

Chair: The Honourable SHARON CARSTAIRS

Monday, April 7, 1997

Issue No. 55

Eighth meeting on: Examination of Bill C-71, An Act to regulate the manufacture, sale, labelling and promotion of tobacco products, to make consequential amendments to another Act and to repeal certain Acts


On Bill C-71

Professor Wayne MacKay, Nova Scotia Rights Commission (on leave from Dalhousie University).

Professor Richard Pollay, Faculty of Commerce, University of British Columbia.

Dr. Allan Best, National Cancer Institute of Canada.

From the National Association of Tobacco and Confectionary Distributors:

Mr. Luc Dumulong, Executive Vice-President;

Mr. Mark Tobenstein, Chairman and owner of Distribution Regitan Ltd.;

Mr. David Crouch, C.A., President, (Chief Financial Officer, Allind Distributors Limited).

From the Ontario Korean Businessmen's Association:

Mr. Joseph Chung, Membership Service Manager.

Mr. Brian Smith, Department of Psychology, Concordia University.


The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, Chair

The Honourable Pierre Claude Nolin, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, Doyle, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Ghitter, Gigantès, Jessiman, Lewis, Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton, Moore, Milne, Pearson

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in Membership of the Committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Moore was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Kenny (April 7, 1997).

The name of Honourable Senator Gigantès was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Maheu (April 7, 1997).

Back to top