Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996-97

Chair: The Honourable MABEL M. DeWARE

Monday, April 21, 1997

Issue No. 26

Third meeting on: Bill C-66, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (Part I) and the Corporations and Labour Unions Returns Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


The Honourable Alfonso Gagliano, P.C., M.P., Minister of Labour


From The Mining Association of Canada:

Gisèle Jacob, Vice-President, Public Affairs;

Robert Cunningham, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Mining Association;

Donald Downing, President, Coal Association of Canada.

From Milner Fenerty, Barristers and Solicitors:

Gerald D. Chipeur, Partner;

Thomas Wakeling, Partner.

From the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada:

Bruce Phillips, Privacy Commissioner of Canada;

Holly Harris, General Counsel.

Olivier Laurendeau, Barrister and Solicitor.

From the Canadian Pulp and Paper Association:

Bob Beckwith, Corporate Traffic Manager, E.B. Eddy Forest Products;

Brian McGurk, Corporate Manager, Transportation, Avenor Inc.;

Garry D. Sudul, Vice-President, Human Resources, J.D. Irving, Ltd.;

David W. Church, Director, Transportation, Recycling and Purchasing, CPPA;

Madeleine McNicoll, Director, Human Resources, CPPA.

From the Air Canada Pilots' Association:

Captain Tom Jerrard, President;

Captain Yves Filion.

From the Department of Human Resources Development:

Michael McDermott, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Legislative Review, Part I of the Canada Labour Code.

From the Business Council of British Columbia:

Tim M. McEwan, Senior Policy Analyst;

Judy Shuttleworth, Director, Employee Relations, BC Telecom Inc.

From the Western Canadian Shippers' Coalition:

Robert J. Renwick, Chairman, WCSC; Transportation/Logistics Consultant to the Council of Forest Industries.


The Honourable Mabel M. DeWare, Chair

The Honourable Peter Bosa, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Bonnell, Cogger, Cools, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Forest, Haidasz, Lavoie-Roux, Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Maheu, Phillips

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Bosa substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Perrault (April 12, 1997).

Back to top