Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Issue 26 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Monday, April 21, 1997


The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met at 11:08 a.m. this day in Room 256-S, Centre Block, the Chairman, the Honourable Senator Mabel M. DeWare, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bonnell, Bosa, Cools, DeWare, Forest, Losier-Cool, Maheu and Phillips (8).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Beaudoin and Rossiter (2).

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Research Officer.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.


The Honourable Alfonso Gagliano, P.C., M.P., Minister of Labour.


From The Mining Association of Canada:

Gisèle Jacob, Vice-President, Public Affairs;

Robert Cunningham, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Mining Association;

Donald Downing, President, Coal Association of Canada.

From Milner Fenerty, Barristers and Solicitors:

Gerald D. Chipeur, Partner;

Thomas Wakeling, Partner.

From the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada:

Bruce Phillips, Privacy Commissioner of Canada;

Holly Harris, General Counsel.

Olivier Laurendeau, Barrister and Solicitor.

From the Canadian Pulp and Paper Association:

Bob Beckwith, Corporate Traffic Manager, E.B. Eddy Forest Products;

Brian McGurk, Corporate Manager, Transportation, Avenor Inc.;

Garry D. Sudul, Vice-President, Human Resources, J.D. Irving, Ltd.;

David W. Church, Director, Transportation, Recycling and Purchasing, CPPA;

Madeleine McNicoll, Director, Human Resources, CPPA.

From the Air Canada Pilots' Association:

Captain Tom Jerrard, President;

Captain Yves Filion.

From the Department of Human Resources Development:

Michael McDermott, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Legislative Review, Part I of the Canada Labour Code.

From the Business Council of British Columbia:

Tim M. McEwan, Senior Policy Analyst;

Judy Shuttleworth, Director, Employee Relations, BC Telecom Inc.

From the Western Canadian Shippers' Coalition:

Robert J. Renwick, Chairman, WCSC; Transportation/Logistics Consultant to the Council of Forest Industries.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, April 16, 1997, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-66, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (Part I) and the Corporations and Labour Unions Returns Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (for complete text of Order of Reference see Proceedings of the committee dated April 16, 1997, Issue No. 25).

Gisèle Jacob, Donald Downing and Robert Cunningham made opening statements and answered questions.

At 12:00 noon, Gerald Chipeur and Tom Wakeling made opening statements and answered questions. Mr. Wakeling tabled three documents with the Clerk as follows:

(a) Letter dated April 18, 1997 from the Calgary Chamber of Commerce addressed to the Hon. Mabel M. DeWare, retained as Exhibit No. 5900-2.35/S2 26 "1";

(b) Document entitled Canadians and Unions, A National Survey of Current Attitudes , prepared by Dr. Reginald W. Bibby, March 1997, retained as Exhibit No. 5900-2.35/S2 26 "2"; and

(c) 1996 Annual Report of Echo Bay Mines entitled How We Grow, retained as Exhibit No. 5000-2.35/S2 26 "3".

The Hon. Senator Cools moved that Milner Fenerty's brief be deemed as read into the record.

The question being put on the motion, it was agreed.

At 12:47 p.m., Bruce Phillips made an opening statement and, together with Holly Harris, answered questions.

At 1:30 p.m., Olivier Laurandeau made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 2:12 p.m., David Church and Madeleine McNicoll made an opening statement and, together with Bob Beckwith, answered questions.

At 2:50 p.m., Tom Jerrard and Yves Filion made opening statements and answered questions.

At 3:20 p.m., the meeting was suspended.

At 3:30 p.m., the meeting resumed.

The Hon. Alfonso Gagliano made an opening statement and, together with Michael McDermott, answered questions.

At 4:40 p.m., Tim McEwan and Judy Shuttleworth made opening statements and answered questions.

At 5:50 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jill Anne Joseph

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top