Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996-97

Chair: The Honourable LISE BACON

Monday, April 21, 1997

Issue No. 17

Bill C-32, An Act to amend the Copyright Act


The Honourable Sheila Copps, P.C., M.P., Minister of Canadian Heritage


From the Canadian Recording Industry Association:

Brian Robertson, President.

From the Canadian Independent Record Production Association:

Brian Chater, President.

From the Association québécoise de l'industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo:

Solange Drouin, General Director and Legal Counsel;

Robert Pilon, Vice-President.

From the Canadian Motion Picture Distributors Association:

Douglas Frith, President;

Susan Peacock, Vice-President.

From the Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association:

David Harris, Senior Vice-President.

From the Committee of Major Legal Publishers:

Glen Bloom, Legal Counsel;

Geralyn Christmas, Member.

From the Association of Canadian Publishers:

Jack Stoddart, President;

Paul Davidson, Executive Director.

From the Canadian Publishers' Council:

Diane Wood, President;

Jackie Hushion, Executive Director.

From the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada and the Guilde des musiciens du Québec:

Ray Petch, Vice-President, American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada.

From the Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists:

Alexander Crawley, President.

From the Union des Artistes:

Raymond Legault, First Vice-President;

Serge Turgeon, President ex officio;

Lucie Beauchemin, Public Affairs Consultant.

From the Department of Canadian Heritage:

Victor Rabinovitch, Assistant Deputy-Minister;

Susan Katz, Director General;

René Bouchard, Director, Copyright;

Jeff Richstone, Senior Counsel, Legal Services.

From the Department of Industry:

Danielle Bouvet, Director, Industry Canada.

From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade:

Ton Zuijdwijk, Senior Counsel, Trade Law Division, Department of Finance and International Trade.

From the Copyright Board:

Mario Bouchard, Legal Counsel, Copyright Board.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chair

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Anderson, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Grimard, Johnson, Kenny, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Mercier, Pépin, Roberge, Spivak, Watt

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in Membership of the Committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Kenny was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Poulin (April 21, 1997).

The name of the Honourable Senator Pépin was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Landry (April 21, 1997).

Back to top