Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999-2000

Chair: The Honourable JACK AUSTIN, P.C.
Thursday, March 23, 2000

Issue No. 7

Eighth meeting on: Bill C-9, An Act to give effect to the Nisga'a Final Agreement


The Honourable Robert Nault, P.C., M.P., Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs


From the Gitanyow Hereditary Chiefs:

Glen Williams, Chief Negotiator;

Peter Hutchins, Chief and Legal Advisor.

As an individual:

Mr. Willard Z. Estey.

From the B.C. Cattlemen's Association:

Dave Merz, Member of the Regional Advisory Committee.

From the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Tom Molloy, Chief Federal Negotiator;

Andrew Beynon, Senior Counsel.

As an individual:

Neil J. Sterritt.

From the Government of British Columbia:

Jack Ebbels, Deputy Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources;

Patrick O'Rourke, Assistant Deputy Minister, Negotiations Support Division, Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs.

As an individual:

Mercy Thomas, Nisga'a member.

From the Nisga'a Tribal Council:

Dr. Joseph Gosnell Sr., President;

Edmond Wright, Secretary Treasurer;

Nelson Leeson, Executive Chairperson;

Harry Nyce Sr., Senior Resources Negotiator;

James Aldridge, Legal Counsel.


The Honourable Jack Austin, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Beaudoin, * Boudreau, P.C. (or Hays), Chalifoux, Christensen, DeWare, Gill, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Pearson, Rompkey, P.C., Sibbeston, Tkachuk

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator DeWare was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Rossiter (March 23, 2000).

Back to top